Hey Jerkoff, You Ever Hear Of A Leash?

Posted: December 3, 2012 in Random Thoughts, Rantings
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Oh people this is the kind of post that made me want to start this blog.  I have a very low tolerance for flat out ignorant people who refuse to follow rules that are set in place for very good reasons.  I am going to apologize now in the case this gets heated, but I am very passionate about this.

You all know how I feel about dogs.  My wife and I have 2 and they are our babies.  We love them more than we do most people.  We go to great lengths to care for them and would be heartbroken if anything were to ever happen to either of them.

As a person with dogs I feel I have a responsibility to follow the rules that are set in place to keep everyone, including our fury loved ones, safe.  Every single time I leave the house with Bailey or Jersey they are on a leash.  It doesn’t matter if I am just walking them to the car or taking them for a walk, that leash is always on them and it is always firmly in my hand.  Even if a leash law wasn’t in effect I would still practice it.  Both of my dogs are pretty well behaved, but just like any other dog they can see something like a squirrel and chase after it like a lunatic.

I live in an area where just about everyone has a dog so there is always a dog being walked somewhere close by.  This wouldn’t be a problem if these assholes would keep there dogs on a damn leash.  I don’t care if your dog is a lap dog or a full grown Mastiff, put them on a fucking leash.  One of my neighbors whom I hate more than I care to explain lets his to labs run all over the neighborhood with no leash.  They run though yards and the streets while the rest of us are left to duck and dodge them.  I can’t tell you how many times I have almost run one of them over because they are running around in the street while their cum bubble of an owner is a good hundred feet away from them.

Its ridiculous.  People and dogs run the risk of being hurt when you are not in control at all times.  There was an instance a few months back when my wife was out walking our oldest dog Bailey.  She was heading back towards the house when a neighbors dog came flying out of his house with no leash on.  That dog started to charge towards my wife and showed no signs of slowing down.  My wife really didn’t know what to do, but before she could even react Bailey jumped in of her and stopped the dog dead in its tracks.  By the time the neighbor came outside Bailey had the dog pinned to the ground.  I was so proud of Bailey because not only did she protect Tina, she did it without hurting the other dog.

Look I honestly don’t care how well trained your dog is.  Shit can happen at anytime.  There are a million stories out there where a dog attacks a person or another dog and the owner always says, “I don’t understand how this happened.  She has always been so gentle and loving.”   I can’t stand when people tell me their dog will NEVER hurt anyone.  As much as these animals are our loved ones they are still animals.  There is always that chance that they could “snap” and do something none of us ever thought they were capable of.

When I first moved to Florida my wife and I had a dog named Clyde.  he was the sweetest most chill dog I have ever seen.  Never attacked anyone.  Never showed aggression towards anything.  When we moved to FL we stayed with my older brother and his family which consisted of his wife and 2 small kids.  Within 5 minutes of seeing my nephew Mason, Clyde grabbed Mason’s shirt and pulled him to the ground.  There was no warning or anything.  He for whatever reason had a thing for Mason.  Every time Mason would get close to Clyde, Clyde would grab his shirt and pull him to the ground.

My point to all of this?  Be a decent dog owner and always look out for them.  Don’t let them run crazy and run the risk of them attacking someone or getting hit by a car or even running away.  And just so we are clear, I love dogs but there is not a doubt in my mind, if I or my dog were being attacked by your dog I would do what was needed to take your dog out. And then I would beat the shit out of you for making me kill your dog because you were too fucking lazy to use a leash.

Comments
  1. grannyK says:

    I so agree. My old mutt is almost 18, and even though he has never been an aggressive dog, he has lately shown signs of not liking other dogs or strangers much. He is almost deaf and going blind so I think he feels threatened. My point is, you just never know and I will not take a chance! Keeping your dog leashed and close to you is the best way to go.

  2. yeah..keep em on a leash..dogs..eeeesh

  3. desertrose7 says:

    One of our dogs recently went completely blind. I am constantly fearful of running into other people with dogs when I’m out walking ours, especially if other dogs are not on a leash! My poor pooch can’t interpret other dogs body language now, so to be approached by a bumbling happy dog that just wants to lick her all over and be friends may NOT be received so well. Just hearing other dogs barking behind fences makes her a little jumpy because she can’t see them.

  4. Thank you, My Missy got attacked when she was two by an off leash dog—two puncture wounds–trip to the vet and stitches and she has been unfriendly towards other dogs since then, but she does get along with my moms two yorkies and older alaskin dog.

  5. I love this idea for a blog. LOVE IT. This also bothers me. I don’t have a dog, but I am the first person friends approach if they need a dogsitter (I’m a well-known animal lover), and from that perspective, I think it’s even worse. When I’m walking a dog I don’t walk very often, I have no idea how the dog I’m walking or the dog that isn’t on a leash is going to react, so it’s quite a stressful situation. Luckily, most everyone in my neighborhood follows the rules. There are two people I know of who go out very, very early in the morning (like 5:30 AM) when nobody else is around to let their well-behaved dogs off the leash in our park, which has a large grassy area. But now that we have an enclosed dog park, it doesn’t happen as often. Good post!

  6. I wish everyone shared your (and mine, too) opinion!

  7. Katie Renee says:

    Thank you for writing this! I’d like to print it out and put it on the doors of a couple people I know.

  8. Oh, I agree! I am scared of dogs sometimes. I’ve had them charge at me with no leash. I had a goofy friend who would not put a leash on her dog, and I go and walk him with her. He went into about every yard, and wandered aimlessly around. I finally told her, “put on her leash.” She did, but wouldn’t do it if I hadn’t requested it.

  9. Very good as always Nick… I agree! Did you even check out your award yet? You were first on the page and you have not even looked… You wil make me cry Nick!

  10. iamforchange says:

    I love your pages and your form of self-expression, it is a pleasure to have you share your gifts through your pages Thank you. I have nominated you for blog of the Year please visit my page Blog of the year awards and nominations Thank you! Revised
    Posted on December 9, 2012

  11. Matthew W says:

    ” One of my neighbors whom I hate more than I care to explain lets his to labs run all over the neighborhood with no leash. They run though yards and the streets while the rest of us are left to duck and dodge them.”

    Call Animal Control every time !!!!

  12. I couldn’t agree with you more on this one. As the owner of a pet who’s been attacked by a much bigger dog…I get nervous when dogs I don’t know approach mine…especially at high speeds with their owners nonchalantly walking behind them. I guarantee…if one of those damned dogs bites one of mine, they won’t like having animal control, a lawsuit or the medical bills that would follow.

  13. […] From Shit Talkin’ Nick. He’s one badass dude who says what he thinks, hands out Douche Of The Week awards…and […]

  14. Hey Nick… I know you get a ton of these, but I wanted you to know I nominated you for Blog Of The Year.

Leave a Reply

