Douche Of The Week 11-20

Posted: November 20, 2012 in Douche Of The Week
Tags: , , , , , ,

I like my job.  Scratch that, I love my job and while everyone complains about  the people we help I find it more disturbing that the biggest assholes I deal with on a daily basis are a few of the people I work with.  Before everyone I work with freaks out, please note that I said “a few” and not all.  Truth be told I get along with 99% of the people I work with and consider most of them to be friends.  Its just those few that really piss me off.  I’m sure everybody has these people in their work lives.  You know who I’m talking about.

See no matter how annoying or rude the people I help are, I never really care about that because I am essentially paid to deal with them.  What I am not paid for is to deal with the coworkers that seem to feel like the main part of their job is to make their fellow coworker’s day a complete nightmare.  I never understand that.  We should all be sticking together and helping each other through the day.

For a little while now I have been dealing with a couple of people that are insistent of changing all the rules to better suit their own needs and the needs of their friends over whats best for the company.  Its really sad.  The amount of favoritism has become so disgusting I barely feel like going to work when I know those people will be working that day.

I completely understand wanting to protect your friends and such, but there is a line, and that line shouldn’t be crossed.  As I said above, I consider several of my coworkers to be friends, but I will call every single one of them out if they do something wrong.  Case and point; Last week one of my friends/coworkers clocked in and then went into a side room to fix her hair and finish getting ready for work.  Even though I consider her to be a friend I called her out on it and told her she needs to be ready for work before she clocks in.  Did I love doing that to her?  Not really, but that’s the nature of the beast.  Even though we are friends, once we are clocked in we need to put the business first.

A month ago I was threatened to be written up for clocking in 1 minute early.  Yeah one fucking minute.  Even though I found it to be completely ridiculous I accepted my scolding because according to the rules I accept by being employed I was in the wrong.  I wasn’t happy about it, but that’s the way it is.  It wasn’t till just a couple of days ago that it really pissed me off.

I was getting ready to leave when I stopped by the front door to say bye to a few people when one of my coworkers walked in.  I heard them talking to another associate (the one that threatened to write me up) about how they came in 30 minutes early by accident.  I expected to hear, “that sucks.”  Instead I heard, “Just clock in early.”  My head damn near exploded.  I clock in a minute early, get scolded and threatened.  Your friend shows up 30 minutes early and you not only allow them to clock in early, but you suggest it?  Ri-fucking-diculous.

The whole thing sickens me.  I am not one to complain or even care about what other people do because as far as I am concerned I am there to work and get paid. It just pisses me off that in every job there has to be people like this.  You all know who you are.  You are the ones that the rest of us hate working with.  You are the ones that make the job 100 times harder than it really is.  You are the ones that refuse to let other people be happy because you are not.  With all of this and so much more you are without a doubt Douche of the Week.

 

Comments
  1. I know this kind of People very well from my past working experience. All you can do is head-shaking and think your part.. lol.

  2. Yup, we all know those people, and it’s absolute BULL! No matter what, I highly doubt any job treats every single person the same…goshdamn favoritism.

  3. seakist says:

    This reminds me of when I worked part-time at a health food store. We’d have to write in our hours on a time sheet. I used to come in early with another woman, who held the key and was responsible for opening. If I wrote down that I came in at 8:53, she’d put down 8:57 (even though she was there before me), to make me look like I was lying because she was just a jealous witch who liked to start passive-aggressive trouble. There’s always ONE. That’s why I started my own business, there are just too many “douches of the week” to deal with 🙂

  4. greatmartin says:

    Well if you would learn to kiss ass you could punch in 30 minutes early, too! No matter what your job it is all politics.

  5. strawberryquicksand says:

    Yes, one of my new bosses is just so puffed up and self important it is just ridiculous. Every day he comes out with something else new that he thinks makes him seem important. It does my head in. It wouldn’t be so bad if he was a little more professional but he is just a dick!

  6. strawberryquicksand says:

    OH, and what do you get if you punch in one minute late?

Leave a Reply

