Her Name Is Vita

Posted: November 18, 2012 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , ,

I meet some very interesting people at work every single day, but one person tops them all.  I talked about this person a while back when I wrote “Luck Be A Lady”.  She is the one that gave me the infamous lucky rock that I carry with me at all times.  She is a really nice person, but I would be lying if I said she wasn’t a tad strange.  In all fairness I probably only think she is strange because I don’t truly understand her.  Either way this is story of what happened a week or so ago.

I was walking across the front of the store when she walked up to me and began to hug and kiss me.  She whispers in my ear, “I love you, God bless you.”  She let go of me and began to dig into her purse.  I thought for sure she was going to give me another lucky rock, but instead she pulls out a business card.  As she hands me the card she says something that even a week later I am still trying to wrap my head around.  The words that came out of her mouth were, “If I die, my name Vita.”

That was it.  After that she walked away to leave me to ponder what just happened. “If I die, my name Vita.”  Just six little words have had my head spinning since I heard them.  What did she mean by that?  Is she dying?  If so, why tell me and give me her card?  I am a guy that she sees once in a while, and before this happened, didn’t even know her name.

“If I die, my name Vita,” seriously, what the fuck does that mean?  I wish I knew.  I wish I wasn’t so completely confused and shocked when she said it, so I could have asked her what the hell it means.  I just keep repeating it over and over again, hoping that at some point it makes sense to me, but then again isn’t that the definition of insanity?

 

Comments
  1. Hmnnn..insane or not you have a human being that has offered love to you at work instead of the people that make your job harder. Maybe she is just one of your guardian angels in human form..and by the way Vita–means life–so maybe the message is–enjoy life, love it, live it because in the end part of life, Vita, is death……..

  2. desertrose7 says:

    What exactly is on her business card? What does she do? Is she a fortune teller or something? Perhaps she is someone from a past life – you two are connected somehow from the past and she knows it. Maybe she’s just crazy but is drawn to something about you – a sensitive side of you. What a great mystery. Love it! (But I hope she doesn’t die.)

  3. John says:

    Very odd indeed. I suppose you will have to find her and ask her point blank what this means.

  4. desertrose7 says:

    Yes, I would have to ask her. It’s driving me nuts just thinking about it and she didn’t even give ME the stone, or the card. Sheesh!

  5. Hopefully you see her again soon to get some answers! Very perplexing!!

  6. neelkanth says:

    The story is suspense laden but interesting.

  7. rusty says:

    The lady sure knows how to leave an impression. 🙂

  8. jadesandwich says:

    I think she’s just trying to be abstract. Vita means “life” in Latin…so maybe she’s just saying that she will live on even in bad circumstances or something idk loll

  9. victoriahere says:

    I’ve had something like that happen to me also. This lady blessed me with the whole shabang (mind you i was only 15 at the time). One it freaked me out and Two I don’t believe she ever gave me her name.
    Anyway, what I’m trying to say is maybe she just wants to be remembered by you or anybody. People remember the weird ones or well the ones that we think are weird but they might not be. idk its so confusing. lol.

    • Rani Kaye says:

      Does the card have a business name on it that you could google? Or an address or phone number? Somebody knows who she is, no doubt. How old of a person is she? Hugs & kisses to a stranger? Yeah, that’s kind of weird. If she’s buying food in your store, she’s not an angel – just a human. People act strange for all sorts of reasons. You can probably find out whatsup with her by getting past the weirded out phase & just doing some detective work. She might be weirded out herself by some strange religion & think she is evangelizing you. Whatever her story is, it has more to do with her than it does with you. You’re just somebody in her orbit that for whatever reason she’s thinking she should say stuff too. Heck, she might just be somebody with Alzheimer’s. Shake off the cobwebs, Nick, and either investigate rationally or write her off as a crackpot. That’s my take on the matter. Best wishes, however you choose to handle this! – Rani

  10. […] Be A Lady, in which I introduced you all to her and the origin of my lucky rock.  The second was Her Name Is Vita.  In that one I told you a strange story of how I came to know her name and possess her business […]

Leave a Reply

