Searching For My Sister Update

Posted: November 10, 2012 in Searching For My Sister
Tags: , , , , ,

So its been almost 2 weeks since I reached out to my sisters.  I would like to say that they both responded we are now getting to know each other, but unfortunately neither have responded. Its sad in a way because I would have loved to seen who they have become and maybe even start a relationship with them.  And although I am sad about it I completely understand then not wanting to reply to me.

I guess this all I have to say on this subject.  Since I assume there won’t be any future contact this will be the last post pertaining to my sisters.  If for some reason they contact me I will be sure to fill you all in, but till then this is the end.  Thank you all for supporting me through this.

Comments
  1. Shannygirl says:

    I would say don’t give up. It’s only been 2 weeks and they may have something going on in their own lives, they may be having a difficult time with the decision to contact you back, it could be any number of things. Just sit back patiently and wait and see what develops, but don’t give up.

  2. John says:

    I commented before here that it may be bitter-sweet. I hope the ladies will respond to your attempts, Nick. Be well.

  3. Charlie says:

    Im so sorry my brother

  4. lazypuffhead says:

    their loss mate .. and you never know what the future will bring .. everyone has their own shit and maybe if they’re not in a good place then they might not be able to reach out … there’s still hope

  5. Like someone else said it has been only two weeks and you don’t know what kind of emotional space they are in. Give it time. I would send holiday messages and the occasional I hope you are doing well, maybe even send a link to your blog so they can get to know you via your writing on their time. Searching step 1, Finding step 2, contact step 3, now step 4 just wait.

    Hang in there

    Ivonne

  6. avwalters says:

    Don’t press, don’t give up. You’ve been ruminating on this for years. And you want to give them two weeks? These things pan out in they’re own time. In the meantime, look in the mirror to see if you can figure out why, for you, this is so pressing. Why do you feel you need to cement it, or dump it, in so short a period? In these days of instant, sometimes we forget that things have their own seasons….

  7. There’s always hope in the air my friend. This is coming from someone who waited over 15 years to have a relationship with my father, while I’m still hoping the same will happen with my mother. Just keep living and who knows, one day hope will be at your doorstep, or flow loud and clear through the phone lines.

  8. Holli says:

    Because you are not harboring ill will, the future, not having been written yet, is a place for hope. I pray you are able to, at some point, hear from them. ♥

  9. Stacia says:

    Mucho love to you. I think you are such an amazing, caring, and honest man. xoxo

  10. vickie says:

    Everyone here is sooooo right dont give up yet 2 weeks is not a lot of time….Hang in there Hugs Love You

  11. grannyK says:

    Maybe it’s just a shock to them and they need some time? Sending good thoughts your way.

  12. I truly hope we get to read soon that one or both of them reached out to you. They may need a little time.

  13. kfitz says:

    Hey Nick, the waiting game is a challenge especially with so many unknowns behind the scenes. I was 40 when I reached out to my biological father and there was quite a wait before he responded. All this to say, this isn’t the end, it’s the beginning. .. .

  14. I hope you get a surprise and they end up responding. I know sometimes people are naturally suspicious of people they don’t know but you deserve a chance to get to know them and I hope it happens for you. 🙂

  15. I have a sibling I have not seen for over 30 years.
    I had not heard from her for maybe 20 of those when she began contacting me. It was difficult for me at first, not being sure what she wanted or needed. That may sound strange, but everybody has a story [I know I don’t know yours, or theirs.] Mine had a broken heart in it. I’d “lost” her so long ago. Mine also had some dark family stories no one likes to discuss. Would she be another that would expect silence from me? Or, maybe worse: would she want to talk about it all instead? Would I learn things I’d regret learning? Stranger than the truths I already held, and seemed to hold alone? Who knew? Scary shit…
    I decided finally that all I needed to do was just get to know her, like anybody else, and it took time.
    She got to know me as well, and she really didn’t know who I was at all, even though she remembers who I was as a wee one.
    We started with talking about art.
    We sometimes talk several times in a week now. Sometimes not for a while. It didn’t happen overnight. The truth is, I know she still does not understand my life, or what it’s been. But she is pretty special to me, and she is a great fan of, well, me. That’s pretty neat.
    Whatever made her begin to contact me, I may never really know. But once she did, she didn’t just stop. Now and then, she shot me a call, or a card. I understood finally, she just wanted to know me. She didn’t put me in a corner; she did give me space. She just would return.
    I just thought I would share this with you. We never know what’s in another’s life, head, heart. My sister did the footwork, and was there. When I felt safe, I followed.
    Sadly, there is another sibling with another story I won’t tell here. Maybe somewhere else…

    Keeping a good thought for you.
    Pearl

  16. I wanted to say also-
    Trust the process, for it is one. Even though it’s hard, trust. Things will be alright.

  17. tauromaja says:

    Nick,
    I would go with what Pearl said. And I wouldn’t give up on them. I mean, it is kind of to be expected, don’t you think? When someone comes out of the woodwork like that, no one knows what to expect and people need time. Two weeks may seem a long time for you but there was all that time in between their birth and now. Give them the benefit of the doubt. You can’t give up on them. Think of it as a second chance to be with your brother. You wouldn’t have given up on him and you shouldn’t do so now with your sisters.

  18. FlowerMeNow says:

    Maybe it came as a shock for them, 2 weeks seems long, but maybe it is the time they need to react, they may be discussing it right now, even figuring out how to meet you and even dreading the whole thing. Don’t give up hope ! 🙂

  19. mmadonna1 says:

    Don’t give up. Things happen for a reason and one day you (hopefully soon) you may be pleasantly surprised. At least YOU did what YOU thought was right…sometimes, that’s all that matters.

Leave a Reply

