Hero Of The Week 11-6

Posted: November 6, 2012 in Hero Of The Week
Tags: , , , , , , ,

For  while I was doing the “Anti-Douche” weekly posts, and while I loved the idea, I actually hated the name.  From now on this will take its place.

Alright lets get to it.

A week ago Hurricane Sandy hit New Jersey causing complete devastation.  Thankfully the rest of the country has come to the aid of those in need by donating their time and money to help everyone get back on their feet.  There are cops, firemen and paramedics from all over the tri-state area offering help to those in need and while they are all considered by so many to be heroes, there is a guy that in my mind that redefines what a hero really is.

There are many people I am proud to say I knew at some point in my life, but Len Conticello has jumped to the very top of that list.  Len and I attended Brick Memorial together where we both would go our separate routes on our way to graduation.  We had several friends in common but really didn’t hang out in the same crowds.  I almost wish I could go back in time and change that because if he was as great of a guy as he is now I would have been honored to call him my friend.

Once word of how bad our home state was hit by the storm many of us were frozen in shock with no idea of what to do.  While everyone in the state was trying to flee the craziness Len (owner of Cabo Taco in St Augustine, FL)  packed up 2 trucks full of donated supplies and food, drove 1000 miles into the heart of the destruction and began to help all those in need.  All in all Len and his Cabo Cares Crew delivered over 6000 pounds of food and about $200,000 worth of donated items to Jersey.

Len, you are a fucking hero to me and so many other people.  I hope you know how much I, and everyone else appreciates everything you are doing.  While there is so much heartbreak seeing what this storm has done to our hometown I am forever grateful that someone like you exists.  You have restored my faith in humanity sir.

Thank you so much for being the guy Jersey needed right now.  There is no doubt that you are a hero and I would go toe to toe with anyone that said otherwise.  I can’t wait to get up to the St. Augustine area so I can shake your hand sir.  Thank you for all you have done this past week and will continue to do in the weeks to come.  You sir are without any fucking doubt the Hero of the Week.

Photo: That look in our eyes isnt stoned, its no sleep :-)

Len and his crew getting ready to depart for Jersey

The Hero himself surrounded by all the donated swag

Len cares about the babies

Cabo Taco! The best restaurant in Florida owned by the best guy in Florida!!

Comments
  1. I love stories like these that remind me that there are still really good, kind, incredible people out there. 🙂

  2. Karron says:

    All it takes, sometimes, is for one person to step up to make a difference to those in need. He is indeed a hero. Bravo!

  3. Michael says:

    I can’t wait to go to Cabo Taco again!! Thanks Len and all the vendors who made this possible!

  4. Ben that’s my brother right there! Proud of what he did.

  5. Len totally rocks!! Thanks so much for the hero post! Very cool. 🙂

  6. Ina says:

    great men, gift from God.

  7. I love it when I read a story that restores my faith in humanity…….

  8. As always a great read, I lost faith in society years ago… it is nice to know there are great people out there still… where have you been Nick? Check out my new post… = ] http://vagendavixen.wordpress.com/2012/11/07/soul-mates-connections-happiness/ as always your opinions always matter X

Leave a Reply

