Searching For My Sister

Posted: October 27, 2012 in Searching For My Sister
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Last week I shared with you that I was searching for my sister and was following up on a credible lead.  Well so far that lead has fallen flat.  The lead in question was the woman my so called dad hooked up with (the mother of my sister).  My mom found her on Facebook and I messaged her in hopes to open a line of communication.  So far I have heard nothing back.  I checked her page a few times and saw that she posted things after I sent her a message so I know she has been on Facebook.  And yeah I know that is a borderline stalker move, but I really just want to find my sister.

The sad thing is that I really don’t have anymore more leads.  I don’t know even know my sister’s name.  I would lie if I said I wasn’t heartbroken.  I don’t even know why, but I feel such an overpowering desire to find her.  Even if we never talk, I just want to know who she is.

I guess there is another option to find her, but its not one I am willing to do yet.  I would assume my sperm donor of a dad would at least know her name and maybe even where she is.  I don’t know where he is, but I know people that probably could locate him.  At the moment I am not ready to open that can of worms.

Well I guess that’s all I have to add for now. Hopefully next time I post about this I can share some good news, but till then my search goes on.

 

Comments
  1. John says:

    Having been through this, I understand how important it is to you. A private investigator service might be a good alternative, but isn’t cost effective either. I hope doors will open for you in your search.

  2. AMooreOn says:

    I feel so bad for you right now. It’s unfair this woman won’t even answer you for her own selfish reasons. My children were born into a blended family and I would never keep them from their brothers. (my stepsons) I honestly hope you find another option besides your “father” to avoid that whole situation. I’m totally cheering you on over here!!

  3. Aw I’m sorry. Good luck with your search!

  4. Having lost my sister as she now dances with the angels, it still breaks my heart knowing I will never hear her voice or see her beautiful smile again….so never give up… what is meant to be will be… stay strong x

  5. seakist says:

    At least you know she’s alive and there’s a chance. I didn’t know who my real father was until it was too late to officially meet him, as he passed away years ago. Don’t give up!

  6. Good Luck with your search… I truly understand wanting to connect with family, I have never met my father and apparently have a half brother out there somewhere, but my mom is long since deceased so I really do not have any route to explore… I have come to terms with it for the most part, but I must confess it has taken a long time to reach this point…

  7. Jim Kendall says:

    These are serious, inquisitive questions which should not be interpreted as insensitive. I’m just curious the author’s and reader’s insights.

    Why is it so important for grown, mature, adult men and women to find their relatives?
    Will finding them really have a profound effect on your life? Is it just a curiosity factor about what the other person looks like so you can compare similar physical, family features? Once found, will they really fulfill a void in your life?

    I’ve never understood the angst adult men and women express over relatives they’ve never known; or who have left them. My own dad left my mom and the whole family a few years ago. Grant it I am well into my adult years when he left, but I could care less. It was unfair to mom and my opionion on his depature is that it was foolish and wrong. It’s unlikely I’ll ever see him again because of his age and that he moved to Arkansas and I reside in CA.

    He’s a grown man and so am I. I love my dad, but I don’t need him in my life. He raised me, made me independent, and I haven’t needed him since I was 18.

  8. Jim Kendall says:

    Reblogged this on Reblog Junk Drawer.

  9. Jim Kendall says:

    Reblogged this on Reblog Junk Drawer.

  10. Just keep putting out to the universe that you are reunited with your sister. God and your guardian angels will make it happen. If her mother is on facebook is she? Try searching with her moms last name and with your last name in case she has your dad’s name. It will happen 🙂

  11. Nick! My Mum has been trying to find her dad in the same way… see my Mum has never met her Dad and she knows he is alive but she is NOT as passionate about finding him as you are about your sister/sisters LOL all I know is that when you DO find them, how happy will they be to find out they had this amazing brother out there all along the whole time?! I hope you find them and I hope they turn out to be a as great as you deserve! best wishes! ~Vagenda~

  12. Karron says:

    I am a genealogist and I do a lot of research. Send me a private message on facebook or at kcombs@usa.net and we will talk.

  13. leamuse says:

    As one who shared that journey, I wish you the best. I was successful after many years but technology gives one an advantage. Unfortunately American and Canadian “Privacy Laws” do more to protect those who will get away with unspeakable things.
    Bon courage et bon chance.

  14. cherylfoston says:

    I wish you much success in finding your sister. Keep the faith!

  15. […] a month ago I started writing posts about looking for my sister. You can read those posts here, here, here and here.  In my last post I stated that I would be giving it a rest.  I never gave up on […]

Leave a Reply

