What Exactly Is The “Like” Button For?

Posted: October 26, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

After I publish a new post I usually spend sometime browsing blogs to see what everyone else is writing about.  If I find something I like I will spend a few minutes going through what the blogger has to offer.  Sometimes I’m using my phone to browse so I usually don’t leave comments because I hate typing things out on my phone due to the nightmares of auto-correct.  I always make it a point to click the “Like” button so the blogger knows someone stopped by and enjoyed what they wrote.

I have always thought this to be a nice thing to do, and something I would enjoy others to do for me.

Well that was till today.  I just received an email from someone who I won’t name on here, basically asking me to “unfollow” them because all I do is “like” there posts and never comment.  They went on to complain that “you probably never even read my blog and just hit the like button.”

This whole thing is confusing as hell.  As of today I have 1255 followers.  Out of my deepest appreciation for every single one of them I make it a point to visit as many of their blogs as I can.  If I was to comment on everyone one of them I would never leave my laptop.

To the blogger who emailed me, I will do as you ask and unfollow you, although I hope you have a change of heart because I really do enjoy your blog.  I thought that was pretty obvious when I nominated you for an award a few weeks back.  I am truly sorry you feel my lack of commenting was my way of cheating you in some way or another.

To everyone else, if you too have a problem with me following you, please speak up and I will surely listen.

Comments
  1. Barbara @ Just Another Manic Mommy says:

    don’t sweat it. that person has issues.

  2. Jean says:

    Wha . . . .? I’m so confused. You can like me anytime! And I will NEVER ask anyone to UNFOLLOW me! What a weirdo . . . *shaking my head with a confused brow*

  3. […] What Exactly Is The "Like" Button For? […]

  4. Haha. That is ridiculous! Made me chuckle though. Feel free to ‘like’ my posts. (Although I will probably delete you I’d you don’t comment on each one and nominate me for all the awards available in the blog world!)

    You can please some of the people some of the time but you can’t please all the people all of the time. As Bill Cosby says, ‘i don’t know what the secret to success us but I do know the secret to failure is trying to please everyone.’

    Peace
    (btw please ‘like’ my comment 😉

  5. Holli says:

    What a bizarre reaction. I’d say that person has some serious problems and will some day look back on this exchange and go, “What was I thinking??” 😉

  6. Super like plus a thousand!!! Thanks for LIKING my blog today!

  7. Super like plus a thousand! Thanks for LIKING my blog today!

  8. Sorry, I commented twice! Haha!

  9. Liz says:

    Nothing wrong with Liking a post–I’m honored you stopped by and Liked foodforfun’s pink rice. No commenting necessary:-) You’re fun to read, so keep your end of it up.

  10. Strange. I like your posts Nick, but rarely leave a comment (usually another of your followers has already expressed similar sentiments, and usually in a much better way!).

  11. eljai86 says:

    I hope you ARE following me… 🙂 Sometimes I read comments that are absolutely spareable. I don’t want to share empty statements as I find it kind of disrespectful, especially when the post is of great quality. so welcome be the like button. But of course, if the situation calls for a comment, I do my best! Enjoy!

  12. Connie T says:

    I agree, sometimes you click like just to let people know you stopped by and liked what they read. I would unfollow them if they told me to. If someone does leave me a comment, I try to comment back on their blog, but if they just click like, I don’t care, I just click like on their blog too.

  13. runningwithellen says:

    Usually I just “like” because it says exactly what you conveyed–I read it and enjoyed it–I rarely comment–I don’t often feel clever enough, or think I have something to say beyond what everyone else has said. If I had to stop “liking” someone’s post simply because I do do expand on my feelings, I would feel very sorry for both of us. I like your work!

Leave a Reply

