The Amazing Flying Mayo

Posted: October 23, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I have been getting a lot of emails since I started publishing the letters I wrote my brother.  Almost all of them ask the same question; “Why do you sign all of your letters with The Amazing Flying Mayo.”  Well since a lot of you want to know I will explain it to you.

10 years ago when my wife and I moved to Florida I began to work side by side with Scott as a Chef.  We had such a great time working together in the kitchen and always seemed to get into some kind of trouble.  Being brothers we always messed around trying to prove the other one was weaker.  God how I miss those days.

Everyday we both knew it was only a matter of time before one of us struck.  One day I made the first move and attacked him.  We fooled around for a bit and ended up near a side room that doubled as a pantry.  I honestly don’t know how it happened, but somehow while we were fighting I lost my balance and fell ass first into a 10 gallon bucket of mayonnaise.  We both laughed so hard we had tears in our eyes.  After he helped my up and saw that my ass was covered in mayo, the ball busting began.  He started calling me “The Amazing Flying Mayo” and the name stuck for years.  It was one of those names that you absolutely hated, but knew it was hysterical.

Out of all the nicknames we gave each other over the years this was the one that always made the both of us laugh.  I really do miss him calling me that, and I miss even more hearing him laugh like he did when I fell into the mayo.  No matter how embarrassing it was, I would fall into that bucket everyday for the rest of my life just to hear his laughter again.

Comments
  1. Jean says:

    Aw, no fair making me choke up before I’m done with breakfast. I love this post.

  2. kristen says:

    Awwww Nick I miss him too. I can’t imagine how hard it is for you. I have so many memories and you 2 are a part of a bit of them. I do remember when he and Lauren came to visit at camping land with new little Mason. Everyone, especially you, were so excited to see him and his family. He carved a watermelon bowl into a shark or dolphin and you tried to pretend it wasn’t anything incredible but I saw you sitting alone admiring it when no one was looking.
    scott talked to me that day. He said he misses
    everyone here but really missed hanging out with you and hoped you’d all love closer again. I’m glad you both got that. You 2 truly were an amazing duo. I’m glad I was never on the end of the jokes with you tkk.

    • kristen says:

      It was fun being with you guys. You 2 were more like older brothers than cousins.
      I hope you know how much I miss you and wish we could see each other more. Love you and Tina. Xoxo

  3. Now THAT’S a great memory to have. 😆

  4. Love this post… Love your memories, I cracked up! X

    • Nick says:

      You are becoming one of my favorite readers 🙂

      • Aww… Thanks that means a lot to me! Hey check my new posts out, You might like the new posts, one got like 11 likes in less then 24 hours, now for me as been blogging like 7/8 weeks I was over the moon! LOL one day I might be as good as you are!

  5. sheedon says:

    great and warm memories 🙂
    and thank you very much for your following, following you too 🙂

  6. funnybiatch says:

    That is one great memory to have 🙂
    Your text made me ramble in my own memories, and I can pretty much imagine the time you have had with your brother.

  7. ewww an ass covered in mayo. That’s a mental picture!! lols.

  8. Pamela says:

    What a great story. Your brother lives on in your memories and stories.

Leave a Reply

