The Anti-Douche 10-2

Posted: October 2, 2012 in The Anti-Douche
Tags: , , , , , ,

It is a well known fact that I have, what can only be called, a man-crush on the one and only Kevin Smith.  The man makes me laugh more than anyone else ever has.  He is one of the most honest people in Hollywood and also one of the realest.  He tells it like it is, and is willing to drop everything to help others pursue their dreams.  While all of these reasons make me love the guy there is one more thing he has done that truly changed my life.  He introduced me, and the world, to Jamie Walton.

March 26, 2011 I was sniffing around SModcast.com when I happened to come across SMinterview #2.  For those of you not familiar with it, SMinterview is a podcast in which Kevin Smith sits down with a person and, well you guessed it, interviews them.  Usually anything with Kevin Smith leads to tears of laughter.  This was not such an occasion.

The story of Jamie Walton touched my heart in such a way that it was hard not to be emotional.  Jamie spent hours talking about her life with Kevin himself becoming choked up while listening.  She had stories of how she was molested and raped as a child, and put through torturous things that are only in the darkest of nightmares.  I won’t get into all of that here but I beg of you to listen to the podcast.  You can find it HERE.

So by now you must be wondering, what makes this an Anti-Douche post?  The answer to that is JAMIE WALTON.  With all the pain she endured and as child she somehow took it all and made it into something amazingly positive.  Jamie founded and is the President of The Wayne Foundation.

“The Wayne Foundation is committed to fighting human trafficking, child prostitution, & child sex exploitation one victim at a time by providing individuals with a safe home environment that will empower them with the tools they will need to stop the cycle of abuse”.

This world is filled with people that were unfortunately not strong enough to survive the horrors such as what Jamie dealt with.  She not only survived, she is now sharing her story and using it to inform and help others that face the same things she did as a child.

I highly doubt she will ever read this, but I would like to let her know I have the utmost respect for her and support everything she does.  The Wayne Foundation is an amazing organization in which I would do anything to help and support.  I hope it continues to grow and that more people get involved, because the more people that are made aware of this, the better the chances to rid the world of these heinous acts.

Jamie you are an amazing woman and for all that you do to protect people you are without a doubt this week’s Anti-Douche!

For more info on The Wayne Foundation go to http://the-waynefoundation.org/

Comments
  1. anirtakms says:

    Thank you. That’s excellent!!

  2. Thank you for sharing her story. I beleive as artists we take our pain and turn it into art. I guess this can apply to anyone in life. Take your pain and your hurts and turn them into something positive so that the pain was not for nothing…….It is always inspiring when we see others transform pain into something greater.

    ivonne

    • Nick says:

      You’re welcome! You all are inspiring to me. I have always thought myself to be creative but I was never to really able to do anything with it.

  3. What an amazing story, I love Kevin Smith too! 🙂 Anti-Douche for sure! 🙂

  4. kfitz says:

    Another great post! Kudos to you, Kevin and most of all Jamie!

  5. […] Talkin’ ShitTop Posts & PagesThe Anti-Douche 10-2 […]

  6. Reblogged this on A Spoonful of Suga and commented:
    a great story and happening!!

Leave a Reply

