When Did It Become More About Laughs And Less About Talent?

Posted: September 23, 2012 in Random Thoughts, Rantings
Tags: , , , , , ,

A fellow blogger I follow published a great post about the show X-Factor in which he declared the show promoted perversion on all sorts of levels.  Click here and check it out, Mike did a great job on it and it deserves a read.  Anyway after reading it a few days ago it got me thinking.  All of those “talent” shows are fucked up.  My wife watches just about every dancing and singing show there is so I end up watching them with her.  Every time I watch more that 5 minutes of them I find myself utterly disgusted.  The shit they put these people through is such bullshit.

Since this post started with X-Factor lets keep on that path for a minute.  I was watching an episode when a guy came out to sing.  I’m not going to lie, he sucked.  The song doesn’t even matter because its what happened after he performed that irritated me.  Here take a look and pay attention to what Britney Spears says.

“I want to know who let you on stage”  Let me help you out.  The people that let him on stage are the same assholes that knew he was a horrible singer but decided that his humiliation was worth more to them than doing the right thing.  I see it every single year and it sickens me.  If I am watching a talent show, why the hell are you showing me 4 or 5 talent less people to every one truly great singer.  They don’t even stop by just putting them on TV, they also have to call them stupid and make them feel like shit for trying to pursue their dream.

And then you have a show like America’s Got Talent which probably pisses me off more than any other show.  I can’t even bring myself to watch it anymore because I was so annoyed with the judges putting through a horrible act because they got a kick out of making fun of it.  The whole point of the show is to find an act that can headline at Vegas and yet they keep putting through ridiculous acts like this one:

Are you fucking kidding me??  How the fuck do pick this guy but tell others no because you don’t have room for them all on the show.  I wold love to sit down one day and go through all the auditions because I can guarantee you there were better acts that auditioned and didn’t get as far as this guy did.  And to be clear I have nothing against that guy.  Good for him to come out and audition.  But seriously you can’t tell me that he is a headlining Vegas show worth a million dollar contract.  As harsh as it may seem, the guy is nothing more than a side show to give the people watching a good chuckle and to boost their ratings.

One show that has taken strides in the right direction, at least in my opinion, is The Voice.  When I watch that show I am pleased to say they only seem to put people that can sing on the stage.  Don’t get me wrong there are a few people that are not amazing, but they are decent enough to actually have a real chance at making it through the first round.  That’s really all I’m asking for.  I just want to see people on a show that have a legitimate talent, and not someone that is put there to be made fun of especially when it is a young kid being ripped apart.

Comments
  1. alundeberg says:

    I totally agree with you. It’s rather mean spirited to let someone with no talent face potential humiliation from the judges and crowd and the audience at home. I can’t watch those shows b/c it’s too painful. They often promote the worst behaviors.

    • Nick says:

      Its downright shameful what they do to these people. If I was crazy enough to audition and they put me on the show just because I sucked I would tear that place a part. I remember a few years back Simon Cowell told someone they sucked and the guy walked up to the table and threw water all over him. I laughed till my stomach hurt lol.

  2. Thaks for the mention Nick, I really appreciate it…made my day! Keep up the good work man! Also poor Ms.Spears take on the man just shows her opinion on those not on her “level”…lol. What a joke! I guess the dude should have been a no talent ass clown back up dancer, at least then he could have gotten laid;)

    • Nick says:

      Anytime Mike. If it wasn’t for your post i doubt I would have done this one, so I thank you for that as well sir. As far Spears, well she is just a dirty whore of monumental proportions!

  3. kfitz says:

    That’s just mean! Unfortunately meanness seems to be a big part of our cultural landscape. From TV shows to bullies in the classroom, at work and out on the street, we just can’t escape.. Fortunately I don’t watch TV, so unless I’m visiting someone I don’t have to watch this kind of garbage. Setting peeps up for failure and humiliation is a disgusting form of emotional abuse.

    • Nick says:

      Emotional abuse is right on the money! I can’t stand watching 15 year old girls run off stage crying their eyes out because they are being told they are horrible singers and to not pursue their dreams.

  4. Agreed, and I think that’s why I stopped watching American Idol after its first season. (Seriously, will that show ever end?) But I just started The Voice and the concept seems a little better/serious than the other shows.

    • Nick says:

      I would love for that show to end. I was hoping once Simon left the show would soon follow, but unfortunately it doesn’t seem like its ever going to end.

  5. AMooreOn says:

    As someone who watches these types of shows, I completely agree. I believe it’s uncalled for to be that blatantly rude. Only for ratings, I suppose. I LOVE ‘The Voice’! Those people actually have to go through pre-contests/auditions in different areas to get there in the first place so you know you won’t ever see someone thoroughly humiliated. Also, the judges on The Voice are never rude, only offer advice.

  6. carla393 says:

    The Voice and Dancing With the Stars are the only 2 dancing/singing shows I watch. Used to watch American Idol (season 3?), but I couldn’t stand wasting half my time watching people who didn’t deserve TV time.

  7. Austin says:

    The only reason I still watch The X-Factor is because someone I know auditioned for it and I hope to see them (hopefully) get accepted. I truly love The Voice because the coaches first off have a great relationship with one another and they also are nice to each and every contestant. And also, like you said, they don’t let the really bad people get humiliated on public television.

  8. Paddy Noble says:

    I agree with you. I follow these shows for good TV but when someone bad comes on (and sometimes its obvious) I just change the channel. X Factor has been criticised for that before. There is a series of pre auditions that people go through before being accepted on. And yet they still let the bad ones on. Finally the whole dramatic thing is all part of the way they play good TV dramatics. I’m watching UK X Factor and wtf is going on with Tulisa’s hair! It looks damn nasty!

  9. MildChild50 says:

    I almost never watch these so-called reality shows — I stick with mysteries and sci-fi/fantasy, for the most part, when I do spend/waste time on TV — but I did get myself hooked on The Sing Off. There have been some really talented groups on this show! And I haven’t yet seen/heard any who didn’t deserve an audition (there are times when I don’t agree with the judges, but then, we all have different tastes, eh?). It’s supposed to be returning this season (probably next spring), so if you haven’t seen it, you should check it out.

  10. MildChild50 says:

    Oops — just found another site that said The Sing Off has been cancelled. Too bad — one of the few reality-type TV shows that are worth watching, and it’s gone.

  11. You know I never thought about it in those terms but you make really valid points. Seems kind of mean to put people on the show just to make fun of them. I am sure when they got accepted they thought they had a chance. It seems like the selection process for those shows should get revamped to be more humane.

  12. Thank you for putting my exact thoughts into words. Isn’t it funny how the US is all about “anti-bullying” and yet these shows are basically about making fun of people? There’s a reason my DVR is full of “Seinfeld” re-runs – because I can’t watch the un-reality B.S. ANYMORE!!

  13. Rj says:

    The day after that AGT show, I couldn’t stop singing “whatcha gonna do?” though!!

  14. moxyjen says:

    Interesting perspective on that. Some people I feel bad for, but I have to admit that some people with huge egos and no self awareness, do get put in their places. I’ll admit I enjoy that. I think that one over.

  15. ljr3 says:

    Another form of bullying…
    Being evil to others has become a huge form of entertainment for some reason. I have to wonder how much psychological damage gets done to these people, or, is it all a set up and these poor acts/singers are planted? Whichever the case, it is still wrong.

Leave a Reply

