And So It Begins

Posted: September 23, 2012 in Getting Healthy!
Tags: , , , ,

Five days ago I declared through a post, it was time to make some changes in my life to get healthier.  After working through the bad food in my house I am starting fresh today.  I have made a decision to stop going out to eat and make more things at home.  This will not only save a metric shit ton of money, but will also be much healthier.

Since last week I have been putting together meal ideas that will be somewhat healthy, and extremely flavorful.  The first thing that came to mind was PESTO!  Anyone that has ever had fresh homemade pesto knows the glory that beautifully green, aromatic spread brings to any dish.

After making some fresh pesto I decided the first meal I wanted to make was a chicken pesto panini.  I took some chicken, trimmed all the fat and grilled it with just a touch of fresh cracked black pepper and sea salt.  I topped the chicken with a thin slice of low sodium provolone.  While the cheese was melting I placed the ciabatta bread on a flat iron skillet, and used a press to get it browned and beautifully crisp.  Once the bread was done I spread the fresh pesto on and then placed the chicken on the bottom piece.  I finished it off with tomato and arugula and served it with some baked sweet potato fries.  Here is the end product.

Now obviously this isn’t super healthy diet food.  Super healthy diet food is not what I am trying to accomplish here.  I just want to stop eating food that make me feel like shit afterwards.  And trust me this is not only way better than what I would normally eat, I felt fucking incredible after eating it.  It wasn’t at all “heavy” and I certainly don’t feel like I need a nap now.

What makes me happy about this is that I want to cook again.  Many of you probably don’t know this, but I was  chef for a while.  Cooking was a huge passion for me, but with work and going back to school that passion had to take a back seat to life.  Now I feel I have it back.  I have been thinking about recipes all day and I can’t wait to cook them all.

Well so far day one has been surprisingly great.  I can’t complain at all.  We’ll see what happens when I go back to work Tuesday and I come to realize I have to find the time to cook again.  If I want this all bad enough, and I do, I will somehow make it all work!

Comments
  1. seakist says:

    Congratulations on your new choices. Those fries look amazing!

  2. kfitz says:

    Beautiful! When I coach peeps who are working on making changes in eating habits I encourage them to add either a daily green juice or green smoothie to their daily routine. I also suggest no matter what they eat, they make sure it’s something they’re going to love so they savor each and every bite!

    Kudos to you for taking the first step. . . I look forward to see what you come up with next! Pesto is one of my faves. . . .

  3. avwalters says:

    Congrats it’s a great start! And, who knew that you’d be doing a cooking blog?!

  4. Irene says:

    If you stop eating fast food all together and crap pizza from pizzerias you’ll be surprised how much weight you’re going to lose! And how much better you’re going to feel! Your body will thank you as will your arteries!
    This sandwich looks great! It’s a start! Ditch the fries next time. I know….little steps…..You can do it!

    • Nick says:

      Its all about little steps. Like I said I am not about a hardcore diet. I just want to not worry about how I feel after eating something. I am sure down the road I will focus more on the diet type foods but right now I just want to actually enjoy what I am eating and how I feel afterwards.

  5. Yummy 🙂 Great You are getting into the feel good feelings of eating something made by your own creative hand again. My hubbies friend joined me in making a squash casserole today. We discussed getting together once a week and preparing meals he can freeze for a quick bake, when he gets off work.
    By the way, I can’t wait to try these yam fries.

    • Baked is WAY BETTER than fried

    • Nick says:

      I am looking into making meals ahead of time too. My wife and I work so much during the week and with me going back to school to get my degree we have very little time to cook. I can’t even count how many times we went out to eat just because we were tired and didn’t feel like cooking.

      • kfitz says:

        Crock-pots are great ~ when it starts getting cold we do a pot of beans each week and then I magically turn them in to all kinds of fabulous meals ~ Mexican pizza on a tortilla, burritos, chips with beans and jalapeno, chili and on top of a fresh salad.

        It’s a good idea to soak the beans for 24 hours and then let them sprout for another 24 before cooking. Makes them easier to digest and keeps one from emitting skunk like odors.

  6. Austin says:

    I’ve been wanting to eat healthier too. Like you, I’m not really interested in eating those super light, healthy meals, but opt for healthier meals and smaller portions. That food looks delicious by the way.

  7. unfetteredbs says:

    good start..and now you made me hungry,,,,

  8. Sharon says:

    You can do it,I have faith in you.

  9. bubblytee says:

    Ah, i agree with you. We deserve to put the best fuel in our bodies. Today I made a home-made sushi salad…with cucumbers, crab meat, avocado, sprinkled seaweed/sesame seeds, and pickled ginger (bought at the sushi counter).

  10. aynn snow says:

    Thank Ye much for sharing that healthy panini w. fries, yummy!

  11. irishmrs says:

    Looks delicious! I am a pesto freak. LOVE the stuff. Just put it on eggs this weekend. It was great! 🙂

  12. Inese Poga Art Gallery says:

    It actually doesn’t take more time than waiting for your food at a restaurant. There are 1000s of recipes which are easy, quick and food is delicious.

  13. SBS says:

    Congrats on the new direction. Here that, everybody, being healthy can save you some $$$

Leave a Reply

