My Brother From Another Mother…And Father!

Posted: September 21, 2012 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , ,

Charlie, Chuckie, Cheese, Cheesy, The Cheese Man, call him what you will, but I will always call him my brother.  Technically, you could say that Charlie and I aren’t brothers at all.  Hell you could go as far as to say we are not even really related.  My family has an interesting dynamic to say the least.  Here let me try to explain it to you.

My mom was with a guy named Charles back in 1973.  They fell in love and ended up creating my Older brother Scott.  As things usually did back then, the relationship ended and Charles moved to New Mexico.  About 5 years later my mom fell in love with a guy named, Bruce which resulted in this shit talkin’ guy you are listening to right now.

While my mom, step-dad, Scott and I lived together as a family in Jersey, Charles was in New Mexico getting married and starting a family of his own.

On September 25, 1984 Charlie was brought into this world.  I would meet him a few times, but it wasn’t till 2003 when he came to Florida to start his life with our older brother and I.  I will be honest that I really didn’t care for him the first couple of months we all lived together, but that all quickly changed.

Charlie and I have become closer than most throughout the years and now if someone tried calling us “half brothers” or even tried telling us we weren’t even related I would beat the hell out of them.  I love him like my brother, because he is my brother.  I would give my life for the kid.

I said above that I didn’t really care for him and that was because he seemed to have no direction for his life and had a very apathetic attitude about everything.  Now when I look at him I can’t help but to smile and be so ridiculously proud of all that he has accomplished.  He came to Florida with nothing more than the clothes on his back and a couple of bucks.  Now he lives in Georgia, with his wife in a beautiful house and holds down a great job.

He is the type of guy you fall in love with the second you meet him.  He is smart as shit and goofy all at the same time.  His laughter is infectious (just ask my wife).  He’s strong and yet vulnerable, shy and yet the life of the party.  He is the kid I have grown to love, and the one I will always call my brother.

Comments
  1. Charlie says:

    Dude I’m going to cry love you so much my brother!! Thank you for sharing me on your blog you have made my day love you nick!

  2. Really beautiful words and as one of my favorite authors wrote, “The bond that links your true family is not one of blood, but of respect and joy in each ohters life. Rarely do members of one family grow up under the same roof”…Richard Bach from his book Illusions….

  3. Aw, he must love this post, that’s very sweet!

  4. ranikaye says:

    Nice to meet you, Charlie!

Leave a Reply

