Time To Make A Change

Posted: September 18, 2012 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I am a 34 year old man with the body of a 90 year old.  As I have gotten older I have noticed a huge change in my body.  I have started seeing hair grow in funny places, my voice seems to be changing and something strange and confusing keeps happening in my pants.  Alright so maybe those aren’t the changes I’m talking about, but seriously my body is not what it used to be.  Everything I eat seems to give me heartburn.  My joints are killing me.  If I eat one small thing that doesn’t agree with me I will be in the bathroom the whole day.  Being lactose intolerant doesn’t help any of these issues either especially when I refuse to stop eating dairy.

So what does this all mean for me?  It means its time to stop being an idiot and start getting myself healthier.  Today I am starting a new life style.  A life style that will hopefully solve several problems for my body that are becoming the bane of my existence.  I will now start watching what I eat and become more aware of what does not agree with my stomach.

This really isn’t about going on a diet or losing weight although I expect to see some pounds come off after a few weeks of eating better.  I am just really tired of eating something that makes me feel like shit.  I no longer want to eat a meal and feel like I need to take a nap.  A while back I actually lost a bunch of weight by doing nothing more than changing my diet and playing my Nintendo Wii.  Then something happened that made me stop caring about all of it.  I ate everything I could get my hands on, stopped working out and just basically shut down.  2 years later and I can feel how bad its gotten.

Here’s the thing people, I really don’t want to die anytime soon.  I have an amazing wife and I want to be with her for as long as I can.  I want to be able to enjoy life with her and right now I feel I can’t do that.  If by getting on a healthy path gives me even one more day that I get to be with her it will all be worth it.  So wish me luck because the first few weeks are going to really suck, but I know it will all be worth it in the long run.

 

Comments
  1. nettrobbens says:

    I struggle with the same know-I-need-to-do-this-so-I-can live mindset. Like you, I’ve shed the pounds and it felt good. Then I became complacent and before I knew it, they were back. But you can do it again. Focus on the end goal. You will stumble a bit. We all do, we’re human. But after the stumble, straighten up, regain focus and do it. I’ll be cheering for you, and focusing as well.

    Best,
    Nett

  2. B says:

    I’m in the same boat as I also have to watch what I eat, track it and worst report it to my doc. Basically it took him scaring me to start caring again.

    I know that when traumatic or just any bad event in general can change your perspective about what’s important and trust me I’m right there with you.

    I’m sure you’ll be able to do it. You’ve done it before and you have loving support from your wife which means even more motivation for improvement.

  3. Angelia Sims says:

    I really need to get more serious about being healthy. Mainly, because, I really need more energy these days! (and I hate feeling like crappy too) Do pass on any tips….I heard lots of water helps.

    • Nick says:

      Lots of small meals throughout the day. That is where I usually have a hard time. My job doesn’t always permit to grab snacks so it is very hard to keep eating when I am supposed to.

  4. Ink Pastries says:

    You can do it!!! I will be with you in spirit. I was in great shape until about 3 months ago and then it got really hot (in Colorado) and fires were putting so much smoke in the air, and I got sinus stuff and I basically just stopped caring and exercising and my diet was all over the place. I am now at least 10 lbs. heavier than I like (I don’t know for sure. I won’t get on my scale). So let’s vow to feel healthier together!!! Yayyy!! Eat right, swimming, lifting weights, running. I’m turning 50 on Thursday and I’m going to feel 20 again soon. : )

  5. Kitt Crescendo says:

    My husband and I did something similar nearly 2 years ago. Best move either of us ever made.

  6. globalunison says:

    Good Luck with your healthy life-style! I am sure, ya will succeed in living like a human 😉
    -Naima.

  7. I feel you. I was going to write a book called “If 20 is the new 40, then 39 is the new 60”. But I was too busy going “all in” on bags of Doritos and couch surfing to really get much traction on that. Good luck with it!

  8. Mooselicker says:

    Good for you! I used to be 256 back in high school. I ended up getting down to 154. I found a healthy balance and that seems to be around 175-180. I’m sure you can do it too. Just stick with it and remember it takes time and hard work but it’s hard work that’s worth it.

  9. Gen says:

    I am trying to change bad habits too, and I really hope that you’d do a lot better than I am doing currently. Good luck!

    • Nick says:

      Its so tough to break the bad habits! I started today. Well I kind of started today. I made sure I didn’t have any dairy and I stayed away from sugar. Its a small step, but considering I haven’t gone shopping for new food yet, it will have to do.

  10. neelkanth says:

    So nice an approach to the topic.

  11. Good luck, if you really want to, then you can definitely do it!

  12. usandyd says:

    I know just what you mean. My epiphany happened at 62 and now at 67 I feel great. So go for it.

  13. avwalters says:

    I, too, have food issues. I am both lactose intolerance and a celiac. I have some actual allergies, too. The reason I’m commenting is that your reported symptoms seem to go beyond the usual lactose issue. You might consider checking to see if you have issues with gluten. (That would explain the aching joints, and perhaps the chronic heartburn.)

    Oh, and if you do need to alter your diet, it won’t be the end of the world. I have been gluten free for going on seven years and dairy free for five. It’s an adjustment, but it certainly beats feeling lousy all the time. Of necessity I’ve turned into a really good cook. Check it out, it might be the best thing you’ve ever done for yourself.

  14. chicana writer says:

    You’ve got our support backing you up the whole way! It’s a steep hill but once you’re at the top life will never be the same 😉

  15. tinafriesen says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. All the best in your new health plan. =) Something that has helped me is to reduce packaged, processed foods, and baked goods.

  16. kfitz says:

    You can do it! .I’ve been fine tuning my diet for health reasons/allergies/lactose intolerance/gluten/????? for years. Five years ago I did a 92 day Juice FEAST and it was the best thing I’ve ever done in my entire life. I felt so damn good it should have been illegal! Of course, it took time before I was ready to do such an endeavor. . . just take it one day at a time. You’ll get there!

  17. You can do this and you have the best reason ever: to live. I lost 150 pounds about 25 years ago and although I feel great at my 55 years, I could have avoided the bad knees and lower back twitches if I had gotten smarter before I screwed those joints. It’s never too late. Some people want to lose weight for an event (reunion, wedding, etc) and in most of those cases they will gain it back pretty damn fast. Lose it for yourself and your wife and your life. I am cheering you on. Love your blog. Best of luck!!

  18. spartanracer says:

    Good luck with the changes!

  19. grannyK says:

    I can relate, although I’m a lot older than you. I have about six foods I can eat that won’t affect me in horrible ways. It sucks. Hang in there and remember that you eat to live, not live to eat. Enjoy your life.

  20. I totally relate to this post – and I am 8 years younger! Lol uh oh! Thanks for stopping by the blog. I’ve been posting some dairy-free eats, so drop back by if you need some new ideas.

  21. ljr3 says:

    I had seriously high blood pressure in my early 30s and I have allergies to a number of healthy foods etc. which makes eating a bit boring. I think I would go mental if I had to give up dairy. The best thing I ever did was to remove salt, butter/margarine and most processed/packaged foods from the table where possible. I hardly ever go beyond the fresh food section in the store now. I walk about 45 min in the morning and again at night, and I add a swim to that in the summer months. I still find I get tired at times and I still have the odd indulgence (you have to have some) but my health is so much better. Although I doubt I will ever be my ideal BMI weight, I am within the range and I no longer have high blood pressure. Best of luck with making your change!

Leave a Reply

