Douche Of The Week 9-17

Posted: September 17, 2012 in Douche Of The Week
Tags: , , , , ,

About a week ago the United States remembered   those we lost on September 11th, 2001.  There were mass moments of silence all over the country and more American flags than could be counted.  Millions of businesses honored the memory of the horrible events that transpired that day, but there was one business that went another way.  

While millions of people mourned their losses Walmart was calling the cops to have children singing God Bless America removed from their store.  The students of Miramar’s Coconut Palm Elementary School in Florida had arranged with their local Walmart to show up and sing God Bless America as a 9/11 tribute.  When the kids, teachers and parents arrived all dressed in red, white and blue they were told they were no longer allowed to sing inside the store.  To try to save their touching tribute, parents and teachers suggested they gather around an American Flag outside the store to sing.

Turns out Walmart didn’t like that.  An employee of the Pembroke Pines store called the local police and reported a flash mob.  Yeah that’s right, they called the cops to have some elementary kids removed from their parking lot.  They must have been scared that the little kids would turn violent and start ripping the place apart while screaming “ATTICA!!! ATTICA!!!  ATTICA!!!”

Walmart has since apologized for this atrocity, but it doesn’t make this incident any less ridiculous.  I realize I wasn’t there and really have no way of knowing exactly what went down that day, but seriously, they couldn’t just let the kids sing outside for 10 minutes and then take off?  Was there really a need to call the cops?  This whole thing sucks and since I have to wait on line for 30 minutes because they refuse to open more than 2 registers, and they obviously hate singing school kids, Walmart is without a doubt Douche of the Week!

 

Comments
  1. WalMart is the king of douches.

  2. Kitt Crescendo says:

    Rediculous. And sad. Guess I won’t be shopping in WalMart again anytime soon. They can exercise their rights, but so can we!

    • Nick says:

      Absolutely! I understand that this was just one employee company has, but still Walmart has been making a bad name for itself for years. I worked for a SAM’s Club back when I was in high school and they were very shady.

  3. Christa Mae says:

    And they won’t let you buy alcohol with your little brother in tow if, for some STRANGE reason, you don’t have the same last name… Walmart’s been on my boycott list for almost 2 years now. This just adds fuel to the fire.

  4. Mooselicker says:

    I won’t be going there to pick up fat crippled chicks anymore!

    But really, why would they care?

  5. ogpeelar says:

    As a parent this was my first year I explained to my kids (5&6) what 9/11 was I spent almost a hour in a half before school started explaining why it is so important we honor the people who sacrificed their lives . And for walmart to crush these small children’s honor and condolences is a shame! Wow… wish I would’ve read this earlier I would shouted God bless America today when I went to Walmart. Lol

  6. chicana writer says:

    They can’t get any douchier than that… can they?

  7. Cheryl says:

    Just more proof (besides all the atrocities that walmart perpetuates related to child labor in india an inhumane working conditions in China) that walmart is the Anti-christ. I’m just sayin’

  8. Nick says:

    Well I’m just sayin’ I agree!

  9. What.The.Fuck. They’re just kids. I think I can officially hate Walmart now. Go figure!

Leave a Reply

