The Possession

Posted: September 11, 2012 in Movie Reviews
Tags: , , , , , ,

The Possession Poster

After watching the atrocity that was The Apparition I went into this movie with an, “expect it to suck” mentality.  I can’t say it was amazing, because it just wasn’t, but it actually was a decent movie.  Before I get to the actual review here is the plot courtesy of  IMDB.com

A young girl buys an antique box at a yard sale, unaware that inside the collectible lives a malicious ancient spirit. The girl’s father teams with his ex-wife to find a way to end the curse upon their child.

Right of the bat you can see it sounds like about a dozen other movies we have all seen before.  I mentioned in a previous post, Hollywood has run out of unique ideas for movies and is just throwing shit on the screen to make a buck.

I had 3 problems with this movie:

1)  Pretty slow.  It had a few good parts, but to get to them you had to sit through some pretty boring ones.  I understand movies have to have “filler” scenes between the action, but I can’t stand when a movie is all filler with just a few action scenes added for flavor.

2)  Once again the trailer is a mind fuck.  Here is my advice to Hollywood.  If you need to put all the good scenes in the trailer, the movie probably isn’t that good.  I am the type of person that can tell you the ending of the movie just a minute or two into it.  Am I some kind of film savant?  Nope, they just show you everything you need to know about it in the trailer and there are no surprises left.

3)  Kyra Sedgwick.  I really don’t have a problem with her as an actress although at this very moment I am hard pressed to remember a movie I liked her in.  I just did’t believe her.  The parts of the movie where she should have shined I found myself laughing because of the ridiculous facial expressions she was making.

All in all The Possession wasn’t a complete piece of shit.  The special effects were actually pretty good and I thought the story even with it being slow was decent.  If you’re in the mood for a horror movie this wouldn’t be the most horrible decision you ever made.  Hell its  worth watching to see Matisyahu!

The official Talkin’ Shit rating:  3 1/2 rolls

Comments
  1. pecsbowen says:

    trailers can usually be very misleading.
    just when i got into reading your review, i saw the trailer mid-way and well, i find it hard to agree to what you have written, because well the trailer is damn good….

    but like i said, trailers can be very misleading…i remember this odd movie “the omen” and then this another one “the unborn”…both with very good trailers, but the movies were completely rubbish… i mean the unborn was not even scary!

    • Nick says:

      My biggest problem with the trailer is its basically the whole movie. I wish they had left some of the scenes out of it, but then again I may have not wanted to see it if the trailer didn’t include them.

      The Unborn was HORRIBLE!! The “demon’s” name was Jumby for crying out loud. The original Omen in my opinion was amazing, but the remake they did recently was atrocious.

      Thank you for the read and comment!!

  2. It’s def not on my must watch list, but I don’t care for horror movies. Same goes for the new Ashley Green movie, Apparition I think…. Just can’t do it! 🙂

  3. Peter Monaco says:

    Just so I understand your rating system, more rolls are better? Or does that mean the movie was extra shitty, requiring more wiping? Am I going to far into this analogy?

  4. piniongirl says:

    Agreed on the original Omen, one of the classics for sure! I felt the same way about The Possession, but I think I was most disappointed because for some reason I had expected it to be a Sam Raimi directed movie, but it was actually only produced by him.

    On a side note, how do you feel about the upcoming remake of The Evil Dead?

Leave a Reply

