The Anti-Douche

Posted: September 11, 2012 in Douche Of The Week, Random Thoughts, Rantings
Tags: , , , , , ,

I have been thinking about a post like this for a few weeks but unfortunately there wasn’t anyone really worthy of it…till now.  

On July 20, 2012 the world was rocked by the news of a psychotic asshole who though it was a good idea to bust into the Dark Knight premier in Aurora, CO and lay waste to the place.  In the weeks to follow there were horrifying witness accounts of what happened, but there was one story that touched my heart.

Usually when something as heinous as this happens celebrities run in front of any camera they can find and talk about how they felt about it.  This makes me sick to my stomach because this shits not about them.  The spotlight should be on the people who are suffering and not some asshole looking for attention.

There was however one celebrity that did the right thing in my eyes.  The Dark Knight himself, Christian Bale quietly flew to Aurora and met with victims and police officers.  He didn’t do it for the press or the recognition, he did it because it was the right thing to do.

Yesterday I heard another story about Bale that made me want to write this post as well.  He received word that there was a little boy named Jayden Barber who was suffering through cancer.  The boy’s only wish in life was to meet the “real Batman.”  Bale not only met Jayden, he flew him and his family out to California for a vacation in Dinsneyland.  Bale spent the whole time talking to Jayden, and simply just making this young boy’s dreams come true.

Say what you will about Bale, this guy gets some major points from me.

Comments
  1. Brother Jon says:

    Nicely done. Good to know there are still good people out there.

  2. Shannygirl says:

    Why can’t the news relay stories like this instead of Lohan is doing drugs again or some other pop star wanna be actress is on the sauce? I don’t even watch the news anymore because of it. Thank you posting some news that is heartwarming not heart breaking..

  3. See, that’s the kind of stuff we need to hear more of. That was a beautiful thing he did.

  4. Shannygirl says:

    Reblogged this on Shanpagne all around and commented:
    Finally.. a new story that’s worth reading about.. it’s uplifting, not a common thing for news.

  5. kfitz says:

    Beautiful! I’d love it if you posted an anti-douche post every week, instead of the other kind. The world is hungry for uplifting information!

  6. theoldandnewshop says:

    It is great to know there are good people out there. Even if they are hard to find

  7. Even I tend to forget we all make mistakes and sometimes one remembers to do what is right for no reason other than to do it. Good story and a good reminder

  8. Anti Douche for real. That was really awesome when he went down to be with the families after the psycho went off in CO. That’s really awesome about the boy with cancer as well, I’d not heard of that one. What an awesome guy. Makes me want to actually watch those movies, maybe, def not in a theater though 😉

  9. mrs fringe says:

    Beautiful, thank you for posting this 🙂

  10. FlaHam says:

    Outstanding post, it seems we all have taken the time to bash a celebrity for random acts of stupidy, but it is nice to see a celebrity given credit when he or she performs and act of kindness, and using their status for something good and not selfserving. Again outstanding post. I was a Bale fan before, this just adds to it. — Bill

  11. Yeah… I like stories where they do things like this without looking for the cameras. Too much of what happens these days is all done for the media, not the people. It’s one of the many reasons I’ve lost respect for people like Oprah.

    I remember a couple of years ago hearing about Tony Romo getting ready to walk into a local movie theater in Texas. Apparently it was rainy out and there was a homeless dude sitting outside. He invited him to join him, paid for his ticket, watched the movie and chatted with him, then took him out to dinner. He got that guy out of the bad weather and fed him. I thought that was pretty cool, too.

    Selfless acts without looking around to see who’s watching? Yeah, those, to me, are the most meaningful. Thanks for sharing!

  12. B says:

    He’s a really good guy, I think he should get more attention for his good deeds. I saw him being interviewed by Charlie Rose on PBS and he was very humble.

  13. Lago says:

    He definitely deserves your points! Great post! Specially today.

  14. Paddy Noble says:

    It’s good to know that there are some genuine people out there and not fakes. Bale gets my thumbs up.

  15. Montana Leet says:

    Bale is a class act, even if I don’t like his raspy Batman voice.

  16. Nick, Your honesty and bluntness are refreshing. I look forward to reading more of your work. BTW, I think we all talk shit–great blog name.

  17. Syeda Maham says:

    Now that’s a real super hero.

  18. He is one sexy hero… that is one of my dreams too! Aww somone needs to do something bad to me… I better get thinking quick! X LOL P.S follow me people

  19. […] and you shall receive!  After last weeks Anti-Douche post it was clear to me that you all loved this concept and since I am a giver I decided to oblige […]

  20. chicana writer says:

    So true…. This guy is a good natured “human being” and that’s why my husband and I enjoy his films. He’s as dedicated to his work as he is to human worth.

Leave a Reply

