The Next Bear Grylls

Posted: September 6, 2012 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , ,

Ever since I was a kid I have felt more comfortable out in the wild than I did in my own home.  I would daydream all the time about being lost in the woods all alone having nothing but a knife and the will to survive.  I still dream about this today.   For whatever reason I can just feel it in my bones that I would not only survive, but thrive in the wilderness.  

Whenever I talk about this to others they always ask if I would get lonely being out there.   My answer to that is always the same…HELL NO!  I honestly do not need to talk with people.  I never have, just ask my wife.  Whenever we get into an argument I tend to use the dreaded silent treatment which has been known to last for days at a time.  Its ironic that while at work or social gatherings I have been known to be a talkative and sometimes funny guy, but I would be just as happy not saying a word to anyone.

I know what you are all thinking…Not being lonely is not going to keep me alive in the wilderness.  I have other attributes that will come in handy.  I know how to make simple traps to catch food.  I can fish with no more than a string and something shiny.  I can easily figure out where North is.  I can start a fire with sticks and friction.  I have also studied how to find or produce drinking water.  Not to mention I have built a few outdoor shelters with nothing more that tree branches.

Am I Bear Grylls?  Not even close.  Could I die if I was lost in the wilderness?  There is a decent chance of that, but I still want to try it.

Comments
  1. hazrock says:

    Make sure there is a helicopter standing by. Just in case you need to be air-lifted. 🙂

  2. Amanda says:

    Good luck idk how far out I could go lol. Though the wilderness is pretty nice

  3. You are a brave man. My idea of camping is staying in the lodge at a State Park. Hope you get to try out your wilderness dream. 🙂

  4. Thanks for liking my latest post. I have been enjoying your posts too now that I am following you.

  5. Lissa Rabon says:

    You SHOULD go try it! Get someone to drop you off somewhere in a natl. park or something, with a designated time to meet back up and a cell phone and go for it. Worst case scenario, you don’t eat for a few days and get parasites from drinking creek water. They have meds for that! Try it!

  6. Yea there is a pretty good guarantee I’d die, pretty quickly! 😉 I love some Bear Grylls!

  7. B says:

    You only live once, so I guess I would say take the chance and prepare for everything.

  8. kfitz says:

    Go for it! You can do it!

  9. gettlost says:

    Feel like coming to Canada and giving it a go let me know. The mountains are cold and lonely in October. October 8 is the Canadian thanksgiving I plan on doing a 60km hike through the back country. Worst case scenario is I freeze to death or get lost in a river or under an avalanche. But I made it through the last thanksgiving trip.

Leave a Reply

