Douche of the Week 8-20

Posted: August 20, 2012 in Douche Of The Week, Random Thoughts, Rantings
Tags: , , , , , ,

Considering my last two posts, this week’s Douche seems to fit right it.  I work in a business that among other things offers  carpet cleaner rentals.  We do not own the machines themselves, but rather act as a third party for another company which means we have to adhere to any rules and regulations said company puts in place.

So a gentleman comes in yesterday to rent a carpet cleaner.  As per the rules given to us I ask him for a valid, local ID and a credit card.  He hands me a credit a card and an expired ID from Canada.  Just so we’re clear on the “local” aspect of this, I work in Florida.  He seemed like a nice guy at that point so I tried helping him anyway I could.  I looked to a superior for a second opinion, but as I thought we just were not able to go against the rules given to us.

I went back out to talk with the gentleman again and explain the situation to him at which point he became pretty irate.  He threw another ID on the counter which seemed to be another version of the one he just gave me, again from Canada.  He seemed to be getting more and more pissed so I asked my superior to come out and talk to him.  The two discussed it for a few minutes and by discussing I mean the man just kept yelling things at my manager.  He would scream things like, “You’re not helping me because I’m Canadian!”

He left and we all thought it was said and done.  A few minutes later he came back to scream some more.  This time he decided to attack instead of defend.  In the midst of his tirade he shouted, “you’re whats wrong with this country!”  Seriously sir?  I understand you are upset, but now you are just being ridiculous.  Although I see it all the time it still amazes me how many people take one simple problem and blow it up into something it doesn’t have to be.  I am sure calling a Canadian a douche won’t help strengthen our relationship with the “True North” but I will take that risk because this guy is without a doubt, Douche of the Week.

Comments
  1. douches are not country-of-origin grown – they sprout up in every country – all over the world.
    A douche is a douche is a douche and this one was no different.

  2. Rj says:

    You know my feelings on (most) canadians

  3. Ryan says:

    LoL .. I think this is the best DOTW Yet!!!

  4. Alex Larrieux says:

    WWJD…

  5. amandameetsbook says:

    He sounds like your traditional crazy consumer. I just assume that the world is not the same to them as it is to us. There is some weirdness up in that noggin.

    I feel your pain, dude. Customer service is a hard line of work to be in.

  6. Tess says:

    nationality has nothing to do with doucheness…it’s a people everywhere thing

  7. elricsfate says:

    What you need to be careful about here is… if someone at that company that sets your rules finds out that you put a post on the internet calling a (potential) customer a douche…you may be writing another DOTW post about teh guy who had you fired. Not that I disagree with your thoughts, just gotta be careful where you speak them these days.

    • Nick says:

      Couldn’t agree with you more which is why I have carefully looked over the social media clause for my company. I can say what I want as long as I never use names or affiliate myself with the company. Besides if I got myself fired for my blog I would probably make myself the DOW 🙂

  8. Irene says:

    Some people feel they’re above the rules. They do things differently in Canada I guess. You did good. You kept your composure and got your superior!

  9. He was an expired Canadian – it’s totally different. if you’re not polite, you don’t get a current ID. My father’s Canadian, I know these things 🙂 – hee hee..

  10. Wow, I love people like that. Sounds like he totally deserves this. 😉

  11. I was going to say something, but I’m Canadian through and through, and now I feel like running back to my igloo. 🙂 Thanks for visiting my blog BTW. We are not all assholes.

    • Nick says:

      Definitely not all assholes. My wife’s family is Canadian and they are alright lol. I have met a bunch of Canadians that are ridiculously nice….this guy was just one of the ones that wasn’t.

  12. Charlie says:

    That dude just could of have a buddy rent it for him. Good douche of the week sir!!!

Leave a Reply

