Kibblez of Love

Posted: August 8, 2012 in Random Thoughts, Rantings
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I have spent the last 10 weeks ranting, raving, joking and complaining  about just about everything under the sun, but today I get to donate my blog to support an amazing cause.  Anyone who knows me or has ever read Not Just Pets knows that I love animals.  I have two adorable dogs that I love more than I do most people.  I would never consider them just pets.  They are my family.  Read that again…They are my FAMILY.  I know for a fact that I am not the only one that feels that way which is why it breaks my heart to know so many of our fury loved ones are being neglected and even killed.

“Approximately 5 million to 7 million companion animals enter animal shelters nationwide every year, and approximately 3 million to 4 million are euthanized (60 percent of dogs and 70 percent of cats)” (www.aspca.org).

I literally read that 10 times, and each time it sent chills down my spine.  I asked myself, “Why have so many animals been given up?  Why does nobody seem to care about this?

Sadly enough many of the reasons people give up animals are completely ridiculous, but sometimes people are stuck in a bind they don’t know how to get out of.  Nowadays, we see so many animals losing their homes because their owners can’t afford to care for them anymore, which brings me to Kibblez of Love.

Kibblez of Love (a 501c3 organization) was founded by Angelina Wilson in 2011 with one thing in mind;  Ending  pet homelessness and UN-necessary euthanasia.  Kibblez of Love offers food, vaccinations, spay and neuter and fostering.  The whole idea is,  they want to help the families that have animals in their homes, that are in danger of being surrendered. Wilson estimates KOL assists close to 300 pets a month and donates up to 4000 pounds in food, along with  litter, and other varying supplies. The more animals they can keep in their loving homes, gives the ones that are in shelters and rescues a better chance of being adopted.

Recently KOL  launched “Chevy’s Fund” which promotes responsible pet parenting .  “Chevy’s Fund” was originated in honor of a family that had to watch their loving dog pass away because they couldn’t afford the exuberant advanced payment required before a Vet would even look at Chevy.  They searched for someone to help that wouldn’t require them to shell out hundreds of dollars, that they didn’t have.  They finally found a Dr. that would help, but it was too late.  Chevy tested positive for Parvo and would eventually pass away.  “Chevy’s Fund”  will help families avoid situations like these.  Through their sponsors this fund will provide low cost vaccinations to those families in need.  The only requirement is that animals must spayed and neutered.   Can’t afford that?  KOL will help with that as well.

When asked what readers should take away from this post Angelina responded, “Every day there are hundreds of animals euthanized for the simple fact of “not enough homes”. This is sad and totally preventable. With our organization we promote responsible pet ownership in every possible way. Healthy pets, current on vaccines, spay and neuter and lifetime companionship. Animals are not disposable, they are family.”

I couldn’t have said it better myself which is why my wife and I have donated food and will also be attending the “Pup Crawl” in September to support them.  PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE if you can help in anyway please visit www.kibblezoflove.org and donate anything you can.  For the readers outside of FL and outside the US Kibblez of Love has an Amazon account so you can donate food and supplies from anywhere and have them delivered straight to KOL.

Needed Items

Money (for vaccinations and surgeries)

Bird Food

Dog Food

Cat Food

Treats

Flea and Tick Medications

Cat Litter

Toys and Collars

 

 

Comments
  1. John says:

    Thanks for clicking follow!

  2. MildChild50 says:

    It’s a terrific idea. Too bad it’s limited to Florida.

    • Nick says:

      You have to start somewhere. Hopefully they can start to branch out to other states. I would love to see a Kibblez of Love in every state!

Leave a Reply

