The (Leaky) Bucket List

Posted: August 6, 2012 in Random Thoughts, Rantings
Tags: , , , , , ,

Recently I have been hearing a lot of people talking about their bucket list.  For anyone that doesn’t know what a BL is, its basically a list of things you want to do before you die.  To be honest, BL’s kind of bother me.  Its not that I am against people having dreams.  I just don’t get why people waste time writing lists instead of just living their lives.

I have a friend that is the epitome of adventurous.  He goes skydiving, rock climbing, extreme go-cart racing, and probably a ton of other adventurous shit.  He doesn’t waste time trying to live by a list.  To put it in his own words, “I like to think of it as just stuff I am going to do (that could lead to my death) . Instead of stuff I want to do before I die.”  That’s what I’m talking about here people.  Stop obsessing over a list you may never get done and focus on the things you could be doing RIGHT NOW!

The more you focus on one thing, the more likely you are to miss other amazing adventures that are passing you by.  Stop living by a list and just NIKE the hell out of life!!

Comments
  1. Love. Though I have to say…I will need a list because I forget everything. On a date day with my hubby…forgot all the cool stuff we had been wanting to do..so we just ended up at a bar (which isn’t the end of the world). Soo…if I don’t write stuff down..I just plain ol forget. Plus…I think I like seeing shit checked off. Ya, that’s me. OCD. Anyhow…totally agree with ya though! 🙂

  2. I am also disturbed by the notion that just ‘being’ is not enough for people. Yes, it’s cool to skydive (well not for me) but it’s also just as amazing to sit and watch the birds, listening to music and being alive. A list means always living in the future for something else.

    I do love lists on sticky notes – but not for living my life – just reminders of stuff I don’t want have to remember.

  3. Gen says:

    I don’t have a bucket list, but I can understand why maybe some people want to do them. It might be because they are procrastinators and needed some kind of a to-do list to motivate themselves into living their lives (I do agree with Rutabaga that there should be no problem with “just being”). Or maybe they just like checking off list items. Or maybe it’s just because they like making lists.

  4. dizzy says:

    I can dig it, Nick. 😃

    Although, I have been close to death on a few occasions… So… I have this silly bucket list. Bands I’d like to see, places, people…

    One of my biggest wishes is to watch a hockey game in an American winter city (preferably Jersey or Detroit , but I’d take L.A., too!) and sing the most awesome Star Spangled Banner with crowd. What can I say? Hokey Hockey-girl from the Milky Way, hey? 😊

    Thanks for checking out my blog! Hope you have a great day! 💋

    • Nick says:

      When there is a choice…ALWAYS CHOOSE JERSEY!!

      • dizzy says:

        Yo! Jersey! Props!

      • Nick says:

        I may live in FL but I am Jersey to the bone!

      • dizzy says:

        I come from the land of Dynasty Hockey snobs. I just ❤ a good team. I don’t care where they’re from. But, Jersey is second to none… Well, except the 2012 Kings… They’re a fave, too.

        Hockey, hockey, hockey… Hockey! Yay!

        Who else talks hockey in August, hey? 😜 lol

        I am proud to make the acquaintance of a Jersey fan from FL! It just makes my day!💋

  5. dizzy says:

    P.S.: Loved the bandaid bucket! 😜 lol

  6. hazrock says:

    Ahhh I hate goals! Especially if I don’t achieve them!

    Oh by the way, I have added you to my blogroll. Hope you don’t mind! 🙂

    -haz

  7. Moe says:

    I live life by centrifigal force, does that count?

    Thanks for the follow Nick – looks like you’re doing damn well for a newbie here!

  8. Lee Weishar says:

    I completely agree with not having a ‘bucket’ list, but not necessarily a list altogether. I’m against tje idea of thinking in terms of ‘before you die’ cause then you are taking away from truly living. I’ll term it more as things I want to accomplish – and give them dates. for example I expect to achieve at least 90% of my list in the next 10 years (there are some pretty big things on it) The reason I think having a list can be important is that the more you think about something, the more likely you are to achieve it. You definitely want to make sure you don’t let anything great pass you by, but if you make a list of the things that really matter to you, and focus on those things, it’s amazing what you can do with it. Just make sure you don’t make a list of random stuff just for the sake of making a list – then I would agree with your opinion %100

    I’ve found that if we don’t focus on what we really want out of life, we have no real goals – no target, in which case we will hit that target with amazing accuracy. To be successful (in whatever way you may define it) it’s best to define what it is you want – be it in material goods, social capital, leisure activities or close relationships – learn how to get those results, and then do what it takes to achieve it. For many people it helps to have a list.

    you can find my more complete reasoning on my own article that i wrote if your interested – and feel free to ignore the actual list – I find it helps to make it visible to others in order to make myself more accountable to it.

Leave a Reply

