My First Blogging Award!!

Posted: August 2, 2012 in Random Thoughts, Rantings
Tags: , , , , , ,

I have been blogging for only a month, so today when I received a message from someone telling me I was nominated for the “One Lovely Blog Award” I was pretty shocked.  After the shock went away I was left wondering how bad the other blogs must be that mine was picked.  Lets face it people, my blog is called “Talkin Shit” and the last post I wrote had the word “Boobies” in the title.  The one thing I can say about Talkin’ Shit is that it is all me and its all as real as it gets.  I don’t sugar coat things, but I also speak from the heart.  When I started this blog I really didn’t think it would be read by anyone outside of my friends.  Just a month later and the blog is doing pretty well, which leads me back to this award.

Like everything in life this award comes with rules.  Rule one is to thank the person that nominated me. With out further ado..

Moon, my appreciation overwhelms me.  Thank you so incredibly much for thinking this foul mouthed guy from South Florida was worth nominating.  In my wildest dreams I would have never had thought a blog called Talkin’ Shit would be considered “lovely” but I am forever grateful that you thought it was.

Any of you that follow Moon know that she is amazing!  This will sound kind of stalkerish (don’t judge me), but I visit her blog many times a day in hopes of new doodles.  There are few blogs that speak to me the ways her’s does.  If you haven’t been to Moon’s blog I implore you to stop reading this and head there right now!!!  i am

Rule number 2 is to share 7 random things about myself which I haven’t already revealed in my blog.

1)  I have a huge man-crush on Gordon Ramsay.

2)  I have notebook full of poetry that I wrote 10 years ago that only 2 people know exist.

3)  I once won a rib eating contest.

4)  I giggle every time I see a little person.

5)  I would give up everything I have ever owned to be invisible.

6)  I ran over a chicken once.

7)  I love peanut butter and banana sandwiches.

The next rule is to list 15 bloggers whom I’ve had the privilege of following and would like to acknowledge as my favorites.

1) AMANDA MEETS BOOK  What is there not to love about about this blog?  She has the quirky upbeat style of writing that you can’t help but to fall in love with!  This one is a must read people!!

2)  Peter Monaco A guy after my own heart.  Tells it like it is but always has a fun spin on it.  “Things to Say as a Jerk For a Day…”  is one of my favorite reads.

3)   JUXTAPIXELS PHOTOGRAPHY Beautiful photography!  I clicked on this blog accidentally and ended up spending hour clicking through the amazing photos.

4)   tracy lane is not a virgin If you can look at “this is what a survivor of sexual abuse looks like” and not be completely memorized, you must be dead inside.  Absolutely breathtaking!

5)  —CameraPen  Another amazing set of pictures!  Make sure you have plenty of time to visit this blog because I guarantee you won’t want to leave it.

6)  burningsugarcane  is one of those blogs that catches you off guard.  I don’t want this to sound bad but when I first visited this one I didn’t think I would like  it.  To be honest I have no real reasons behind these feelings.  With that said, I was tremendously wrong.  I love this blog!!  She touches on a a bunch of topics that really hit home with a lot of readers, and even if you don’t agree with her you still walk away well informed.

7)  Writes2escape’s Blog :  Whether it’s a book review or recanting a conversation with “some random guy” the laughs keep rolling in.

8)  It’s A Peach is one of those blogs that just makes you smile.  With the mix of “LOL’s” and some great photography it was an easy decision to follow.

9)  The Mercenary Researcher Seriously, how could you not nominate a blog with that title??  She reminds me  a lot of myself with her ideals.  Just one read and you will see she is all about being herself and the hell with anyone that doesn’t like it.  I have a lot of respect for her and I hope you all read her blog and see what I see in it.

10)  Haz’s Random Musings is one of my guilty pleasures.  I am positive her blog will make me gain 50 pounds because everyday she has a picture of some amazingly tasty looking food.  If you go to her blog (and you better) make sure you bring a bib to catch the drool.

11)  The Laughing Housewife  This is what made me follow this blog; “I am a little fat. I like food; what can I say? I have dull hair: mousey. I don’t wear much make-up and have no need of a dressing table. If I look like a bag lady, I chose my own clothes. If I look nice, the Hub picked them for me. Despite all this, I am a little vain. This photograph is from 2003. I had to go back that far to find one of me that I liked. But I don’t really care: my husband still thinks I’m beautiful and if he doesn’t, he loves me enough to lie about it. I’m lucky. I have two boys. They never lie to me. Still, you can’t have everything.”

12)  Young And Divorced  Its a voyeuristic view into the life of someone going through a divorce.  It breaks my heart reading some of the posts, but then I realize that this person is strong as hell.  If my wife and I were to get divorced I would be a complete mess.  I would shut down and not talk to anyone.  I give a lot of credit to them for being able to express so much to so many.

13)  Bishop the Reviewer Don’t know how you feel about a new movie/show/game/book or whatever?  Read this blog!!  Great unbiased reviews on just about everything.  This blog was already nominated once before but I don’t care.  I love it and I am sure you will too.

14)  The Word By Mike Ballenger In a word…Kickass!!  Go check it out to see what rules you should or should not follow!

15)  manda.moore  filled with amazing photos, random thoughts and of course….DOMO!!  When you visit her blog make sure you ask her about the penguins, I get a feeling she loves that!

The last rule is to notify all 15 bloggers and link them to this post.  And please don’t forget to check out the blogs listed above.  They are truly great and deserve all of your attention.

 

Comments
  1. Hi

    Yes, your blog is very, how should I put it, raw. I was very sad about what happened when I read your latest DOW post. Then I saw your post for your first nomination for a blogging award, read your answer to No. 1 and busted up, then read your answer to No7 and thought you might enjoy this post of mine: http://wp.me/p2zGQ7-eR. All in all, I have decided that if you can write it real and raw, then I can deal with reading it. Thank you for the reality check!

    KnowledgeKnut

  2. wavensongz says:

    Thanks for stopping by and liking my blog. I feel AWESOME having someone like you liking me & following. I really have to get my act together NOW. Thanks and will be following you now to Learn from the MASTER. 🙂 This blog about how you got the award was AMAZING as well.

  3. I also want one. Now. I want to bask in the fame and glory that comes with knowing that someone out there thinks I am super. As a recent blogger, I am finding it very easy to blow my own beagle here in cyberspace. Yet, far removed, in real life, face-to-face, I still cannot blow confidently or accept compliments with ease. Amazing how one’s self esteem grows anonymity?

  4. peachyteachy says:

    Congrats and thanks for the follow! And best of luck recovering from that chicken incident. . .

  5. I have a huge crush on gordon ramsey also. FUCKING BLOODY HELL~

  6. blinkpack says:

    Josh here from the BlinkPack blog. ‘Lovely’ seems like the perfect term for this blog — quite apropos. I wish you all the best with your travels and blogging. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

