Not Just Pets

Posted: July 31, 2012 in Rantings
Tags: , , , , , ,

 

Anyone that has ever had a pet knows that they are more than just an animal living in your home.  They are our best friends, our loving companions and our biggest fans.  My wife and I have 2 dogs in our house, although sometimes I think its actually their house we are living in.  The girls, as we call them, live the life here with us.  They run around and play all day and when they are tired they take a nap on their very own couch.  The couch was one that I had in my office that I used all the time, but just like most things of mine they were quickly taken over by the girls.

Before I go any further with this I would like to introduce you to the girls. 

Bailey, (in the back) is 4 years old and Jersey, (in the front) is 2 years old.  I would like to point out that the couch they are on is NOT their couch and this picture was taken after they were caught sneaking a nap on our couch.

I absolutely adore these two!  Even though I spend a universal amount of time yelling at them and telling them I’m going to kill them, there are few things in this world that make me smile the way I do when I’m around them.  As much as I love them I feel they love my wife and I even more.  They follow us around the house, they sleep next to us at night, and are always waiting at the door when we come home.  Did I mention how friggin cute they are??  I swear I can’t stay mad at them.  I try to hold a grudge when they eat my socks or knock something off the table with their tails, but its useless.  One look at those puppy dog eyes and I’m done.

I honestly don’t understand how people can treat their dogs or other animals like simple belongings.  Worse than that the abuse them or abandon them.  It is such a shame that so many animals are maltreated.  I think a lot of people forget how important our fury friends are to us. they are so much more than pets;  they’re our family.

Comments
  1. MildChild50 says:

    I could say almost the same thing word-for-word about my cats or any of the animals I’ve owned in the past (except for that one ferret which never bonded with either my late husband or myself). I have to supply food, water, a clean litter box (or outdoor clean-up with a dog), and toys for them to occupy themselves when I am busy (altho’ they often find their own toys, not all of which are approved…). In return, I get a soft vibrating belly to rub when I am stressed or sad, bed warmers for cold nights, humorous entertainment, and light exercise (I get tired of mom-throw-it far sooner than Rocket does). And someone to talk to who doesn’t criticize. They are my family, and I love them dearly.

  2. I totally agree! My boyfriend and I just got our first dog together (we already have a cat) and while we were searching we kept running into weird ads for dogs that would say things like, “She keeps barking at my granddaughter. Have had her for five years. $250. Want to give her to new home as soon as possible.” Uh, whatthefuck? What is wrong with you? Would you give away your granddaughter because she started saying curse words? No you fucking wouldn’t. Or the people who say, “We moved into a smaller place and don’t have room for the dog.” Really? How about you just admit that you don’t want to take care of the dog, and then we can talk.

    People who love animals get it, but some people just don’t understand. You’re dealing with the responsibility for another life, and animals are cool! They just love the shit out of you!

    • Nick says:

      You are so fucking right its scary!! I have a friend that founded a non-profit organization that helps families in need feed and care for their pets as well as provide foster homes for them. I was talking to him yesterday and he told me stories of how people adopt a dog and then give them back the very next day. Its so sad that these people take a dog or cat for just one day and then call it quits.

      My wife and I actually adopted both of our dogs. We adopted one from a humane society and the other we rescued from a family that had lost all control of their dogs and allowed them to keep breeding. They were living in a 1 room apt. with about 9 dogs. I am so happy we could take Bailey and Jersey in because they have both become such a huge part of our family and we wouldn’t give them up for the world.

    • MildChild50 says:

      Give a break to the people moving and having to get rid of an animal. It happens, and can be out of the owner’s control. My husband and I had to move to a different place when we got rental assistance (the place we lived in wasn’t approved). We had to find another home for our Alaskan husky, who we brought back from Alaska with us and who we loved dearly. The best place we could find that would allow us to keep any of our animals wouldn’t allow us to keep a “big” dog, so we had to take Silva to a readoption center. It broke my heart.

      Now I suppose you’ll say that people on low income shouldn’t have animals because they can’t afford them.

  3. I wish there were more people like you!

  4. ditchthemarriage says:

    You are spot-on, I always joke that “It’s the dogs house, I just pay the mortgage” I could never understand those ads you see in pet stores and online that say “moving, need to re-home” dogs cats or whatever, I see them ALL the time. What the crap do you mean REHOME??? You are their home! My dog was a “side of the road” dog that I found ematiated and near death, someone dumped him like a piece of trash and now that little dog is happy, healthy and the center of my world. He can always make me smile and get me through tough times.

  5. amoonfull says:

    Hey there, I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award! I truly enjoy your site; keep posting! 🙂 Make sure to click the link.
    http://amoonfull.wordpress.com/2012/08/01/my-first-award-lovely-blogger/

    • Nick says:

      Wow the other blogs you read must be really bad 😉 Joking aside I can’t thank you enough for thinking what I write is good enough for you to take time out of your day to read. My appreciation knows no bounds.

  6. They are sooo beautiful. I have two 12 year old cats and love them more than anything else in the world. A puppy/kitty is not for Xmas, they are forever!

  7. globalunison says:

    Aww… I loved your girls!! Great post!!
    Thank you for dropping by my blog and following it 🙂
    Blessings,
    -Naima.

  8. […] today I get to donate my blog to support an amazing cause.  Anyone who knows me or has ever read Not Just Pets knows that I love animals.  I have two adorable dogs that I love more than I do most people.  I […]

  9. […] weeks in which 2 of them didn’t wake up from.  I hate hearing stories like this.  Dogs are Not Just Pets and people need to start realizing that.  Demetris and Patricia Walker are pieces of shit and […]

  10. Bahahaha, We have 3 pups and 2 cats. We call the pups “the girls” as well. We started with the cats, then one dog snuck in, then another, and by the time the third one came, I don’t even think we noticed because there was always so much chaos, what’s a little more?!? We actually slept comfortably with the first two sixty pounders and the cats in a queen size bed, but when Delilah our boxer came along, we upgraded to a Cal-King. What’s funny, is she is the smallest and takes the most space. I am a “stay-at-home-mom”, but I don’t have any human children, nor will I ever (medical reasons). I never say I’m a stay at home wife though because reality is, these five are like raising five furry babies. I make home-made dog food weekly. We have Xmas stockings for each “kid” and then of course, at Easter we hide something around 100 small treats around the house and then “release the hounds!” to use their nose to find those “Easter eggs”. I swear, I would love to lock people outside in the yard for a whole day (especially in snow or blistering heat) just like they do to their dogs in the U.S.
    We live in Germany and it’s actually illegal not to walk your dog twice a day and it’s also illegal to leave them outside in the yard. They are considered inside pets here, which for you cat-haters, you’ll laugh because NO ONE, I mean NO ONE has inside cats here. The German vet didn’t believe me when I explained that my cats are inside cats. He thought that was ludicrous! Anyways, enough rambling, I loved this blog and I am so glad I’m not the only crazy around!!!

Leave a Reply

