Mr. Wendal

Posted: July 30, 2012 in Random Thoughts, Rantings
Tags: , , , , , ,

 

Feeling hungry while out shopping this afternoon, my wife and I decided to grab a quick snack from Burger King.  While waiting for the food at the drive-thru I noticed a man at the end of the lane sitting on the curb.  It was obvious that the gentleman was homeless.  He was a tall, very thin, dark skinned man.  He seemed to be rummaging through the garbage taking papers out and putting them in a bag he carried with him.  As we were pulling away from the building he started to get up and walk away which is when I noticed he could barley walk.  He must have had something medically wrong with him because it seemed like his legs didn’t work at all.  It was heartbreaking to watch.  I wanted to buy him a sandwich or give him some money or just do something to help him out.

I did none of those…

Instead I drove off in my car with my AC blasting, a bag of food, and money in my pocket that I was about to spend on myself.  Where I live in Florida I see homeless people every single day.  They are on just about every corner with signs begging for money and I pass them all without even a thought.  So why was this guy so different?  I have no idea.  But I can’t stop thinking about him.

Who was he?  Where did he come from?  Where was he going?  Will he eat today?  I wish I knew the answers to these questions.  I wish I did something to help him out.    I probably will never see him again nor will I ever know anything about him but I hope that lives as well as he can.

Comments
  1. Cynthia Fisk Parrish says:

    *~He was probably an Angel…..*~Cynthia “Little White Wolf”

  2. ranikaye says:

    From your description, Nick, my guess as to why this particular person’s plight hit your heart was because he wasn’t begging … you just “caught him” scrounging … and his leaving when you came seems to indicate the man was embarrassed.

    Empathy is a good thing. If you’d bought him a meal, that might have been more awkward for him than it even was for you. Hard to know. A prayer when you think about him could help. If I’ve missed a chance to pay-it-forward, I at least try to remember to breathe a prayer.

    Thanks for following my blog, BTW. I’ll browse around here a little bit and see what else you’ve written. I’m not so much into video, but I love to read blogs. Catch ya later, Rani

Leave a Reply

