Anyone Else Love Mickey Rourke?

Posted: July 18, 2012 in Random Thoughts, Rantings, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

 

Its a Wed. night, I’m home with the dogs, and I can’t stop watching The Wrestler.  Mickey Rourke crushed this movie!  I don’t care what he has done outside of acting that has given him a bad rep because he is the shit in this movie.  I won’t even try to deny the fact that I get a little choked up at the end when he is dealing with his daughter because the man sold the hell out of his pain.  If you can watch, and I mean REALLY watch The Wrestler and not feel for the guy then you most be dead inside.

The first movie I saw with Mickey in it was Harley Davidson and the Marlboro Man which costarred Don Johnson.  For whatever reason I always loved that movie but could never figure out why.  Now I know…Mickey Friggin Rourke!  There is just something about the way he brings inner demons on to the big screen that makes his roles so believable.

I don’t know, maybe I am crazy but watching this movie again makes me realize that his performance as Randy “The Ram” is one of my favorite acting performances of all time.  Feel free to share your views down below!

 

Comments
  1. Cynthia Fisk Parrish says:

    ~He doesnt have to do anything……..just sit there!~

  2. tauromaja says:

    I watched his interview on “Inside Actor’s Studio”. It had me bawling so hard. I came to respect him a whole hell of a lot and I hope to one day meet him. It was that good.

    • sandrabranum says:

      Mickey is a fantastic actor and plays tortured souls so well. But then when your that troubled, it’s easy to show it. He looked much better before he bashed his face in while boxing.

  3. Kelsey King says:

    I find myself watching the Wrestler over and over again, I can’t enough of him. Another movie which I fell in love with him was Spun. To be warned it is heavily drug related.

  4. Love both the movies you mentioned. I think I have a Mickey crush of my own.

Leave a Reply

