Douche Of The Week 7-14

Posted: July 14, 2012 in Douche Of The Week
Tags: , , , , , ,

Ironic as it may be, this post may actually make me sound like the DOW, but honestly I don’t give a shit.  Throughout the last 34 years I have been alive I have met and become friends with hundreds of people not born in America.  Most of them have amazing stories about how their families came to the US for a chance at a better life for them and their loved ones.  The speak of how hard they all worked to learn English so they could not only work, go to school but most importantly communicate with others. I have the utmost respect for all of them.  I could not imagine what it would be like to move to another country and try to assimilate myself into their way of life.  Unfortunately not everyone is like them.  Today I had the pleasure of trying to help a woman who spoke about 3 words of English.

In my job I get a lot of people that have yet to get a firm grip on the English language and for the most part we somehow make a conversation work using a lot of pointing as well as other hand gestures.  Usually the conversation ends with both of us smiling because we can’t believe we were able to solve a problem using no words.

What separates them from the lady today was that they understand that I don’t speak they’re language and are very patient with me while I try to decode what they are saying.  This friggin lady on the other hand was disgusted that in America I didn’t speak Spanish, and went as far to ask me why I don’t speak Spanish.  As sad as it is I actually apologized for not speaking Spanish and sat there quietly while she yelled at me.

To be fair, her question was a legit one that deserves an answer.  Since I couldn’t answer her then, please allow me a minute to do it now:  Miss, I am very sorry I don’t speak Spanish or any other language other than English for that matter but there is a decent reason for this….I AM AN AMERICAN LIVING IN AMERICA WHERE WE SPEAK ENGLISH!!!!!  I know this must come as a huge surprise but people do still speak English here.  I think it is fucking ridiculous that you come to me for help and when I don’t understand you because you don’t speak English you get pissed off with me.  YOU GET PISSED OFF WITH ME??  Are you fucking kidding me?

I want to go on record that I am not aggravated that she speaks Spanish.  For all I know she is just here visiting, but what angers me is her attitude towards me.  How dare her treat me like that when all I did was try to help her.  People like her not only disgust me but also give the hard working families I described above a horribly bad name.  Lady for your ignorance today you are hereby crowned Douche of the Week.   Douche de la semana (Just in case she ever reads this).

Comments
  1. None of Yur Business says:

    I can totally relate to this at my job. I see ppl who are hired there, and care for ppl, that can not let alone speak the language, and mind you this is a facility with confused , hard of hearing elders who prob could afford some reassurance and ppl who understand them right?!?!?….but….aside from not speaking, they cannot read the English language either. And we write up care plans for the residents so they are properly taken care of. How the hell are they supposed to know what to do. AND THEN the BEST PART!! they sit and talk thier language around you so you have no idea what they are saying. HATE HATE HATE!!! that

    • Nick says:

      That’s a damn shame that they are hired like that. I can imagine the nightmare it must be to have someone responsible for you’re wellbeing that barely speaks English.

      Thank you for the comment EC!

  2. deedeej says:

    I work in retail so I can relate to this as well. Some people are so ignorant its ridiculous. I hate that on the job you cant say what you want to people… especially when you are only trying to help and they become disrespectful. You handled the situation very well but I absolutely agree she had no right to get mad at you. Thanks for posting this blog and letting everybody understand the employeespoint of view.

  3. oliviaobryon says:

    I have to say, you told this story without offending, nice work! Agreed on the whole people are frustrating thing.

  4. jlamborn3 says:

    Pure gold. Seriously. You’ve read my blog, you know I’m a churchy dude, but I was in the Marine Corps for 12 years, so your language, to me, is seasoning … not that this topic needed much seasoning to hit home with me. I may get irritated at times that someone doesn’t speak English after being here a few years, but I’ll work with that. What’s sadder than your incident, though, is when it’s someone who speaks German. Or Korean. You know, something we don’t run across every so often around here. Yes, I’ve had your incident happen to me with both those languages. I still can’t figure out why I have eyeballs in my head, still. They should’ve popped out at some point when I seriously couldn’t believe their attitude. I served a year in Japan. It was nice that many Japanese speak English. I never once through a spaz if I ran into someone who didn’t. They were usually pretty pleased that I could say please and thank you in Japanese and that I carried Yen with me, along with dollars. Yea, verily, this lady is a douche.

Leave a Reply

