34 year old kid

Posted: July 8, 2012 in Rantings
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

34 years old and I still feel like a kid.  Well let me edit that for a second.  34 years old and in my mind I still feel like a kid.  I say in my mind because my body is definitely starting to tell me I’m getting older.  You all know what I mean, the aches, pains, maybe some gray hairs, and just hearing the phrase “all nighter” makes you want to take a nap.  But even with all of that I still look in the mirror, past the premature wrinkles I can see forming on my forehead, and see a kid that still wants to play video games and laugh at dick and fart jokes.

No matter haw many years pass I can still find pleasure in the things I loved 2o plus years ago.  On several occasions I have found myself flipping through the channels in search of something to watch when I stumbled across an old episode of G.I.Joe.  Next thing you know I have spent 2 hours watching the Joes lay the smackdown on Cobra Commander.  I am sure there will be plenty of people that will read this and think, “so immature” or even, “2 hours of cartoons? what a loser.”  Anyone who knows me knows I don’t give a damn what anyone else thinks of me.  If watching some cartoons for a little while makes me forget about all the bills and troubles piling up then so friggin be it.

I work with a guy that is about 10 years younger than me.  I usually don’t like to name people but he has been begging me to blog about him so, David Masone this ones for you.  When David and I work together its usually nonstop dick jokes (not sure what that says about us) and laughter the whole day.  He does this thing that nobody else around us gets but makes me laugh hysterically every time I see it.  Explaining it won’t do it the justice it deserves  but I will try anyway.  It always starts with us arguing about something (anyone who knows him knows he’s usually wrong) and just when he realizes he is losing the argument he pauses and then says, “yeah? yeah? well you know what?”  and the second you say, “what?” he friggin breaks out in a dance while singing, “My milkshake brings all the girls to the yard.”  Cracks me up every single time!  I don’t know if its the singing or the gyrating or the combination of both that I love but either way it completely makes my day.

I wonder if all this means I’m having an early midlife crisis and I’m trying to stay young.  Nahhh, I just loved this stuff when I was a kid and will probably still love it on my death bed.  The only way I can see as to test this theory is to have David come visit me as I’m about to die and gyrate for me.  If I go out laughing I would call that a big bucket of win.  Its just the simple things in life that I love so much.  Nothing beats hanging out with great people and laughing the day away.  And RJ if you’re reading this (I’m sure you are because I sending this to you) I am still waiting on our ALF marathon.  I need a little more cat eating alien lifeforms in my life.  Hell I need a lot of things from my youth in my life nowadays.  I want to spend a whole day building a Leggo castle complete with working drawbridge and little flags flying out the top of it.  I want to find sticks and pretend they are swords and go slay a dragon.  I want to gather a bunch of friends at night and play manhunt.  I want to rip all the blankets and sheets off my bed and make a fort in my living room.  I want to watch a scary movie and actually be scared again but never admit it to anyone else, all while I make fun of my friends for being scared.  I want to crush on a girl but then stay far away from her because I claim she has cooties.  I want to…hell I just want to be a kid again!

Comments
  1. Rj says:

    I’m so down for an alf night

Leave a Reply

